We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Good,Twice in Three Days”

Chesapeake Seafood House
Ranked #7 of 484 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Since 1983 Chesapeake Seafood House has been serving Springfield IL with fresh seafood and hand cut steaks. We take pride in the community and in our dishes. Not much has changed over the years. Serving winning recipes that people have counted on being the same year after year. We don't want to take away anyone's favorites. Consistent quality has been the key to our success. Choosing only the freshest and finest seafood, steaks and vegetables makes us everyone's favorite restaurant in Central Illinois. We serve both locals and large tour buses who are visiting Springfield or just passing through. Once you visit Chesapeake Seafood House, you will be back!
Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“So Good,Twice in Three Days”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

On a recent trip to Springfield from Columbia, MO the volunteer at the Visitors Center as we entered Illinois recommended Chesapeake Seafood House. We are so glad he did! It is located in an historic home on a beautiful wooded lot. Even though we were earlier than we usually are for dinner, we decided to go eat. We were pleasantly surprised to find that they had a reduced rate menu from four to six that was comprised of menu items off their dinner menu, which was also available. I enjoyed a whole fried catfish and my husband shrimp scampi both of which were wonderful. The service was excellent and the atmosphere the same. So much so that we returned two nights later to enjoy another wonderful dinner before leaving Springfield. The home made key lime pie is worth saving room for. Even if you just share a piece.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mountainMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    140
    56
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We live in Decatur, IL - about 35 miles from here - my husband made reservations for a Saturday night for my 52nd birthday dinner. Happy to say, it was perfect!!! We arrived a little early, and were seated in approximately 5 minutes. Our waiter was very attentive, but not overly so. I enjoyed the shrimp cocktail appetizer - my husband had the oysters Rockefeller - some of the best he has had. He chose the seafood stuffed blackened Tilapia and I had the filet/lobster tail combo. Both were delicious! For dessert we split the brownie/ice cream selection and coffee. The prices are lower than our local Red Lobster and the seafood and steaks were delicious. There were several larger parties, some with children. They did have a childrens menu and the atmosphere is fine for a family wanting an evening out with something other than the usual chain restaurant food. This would be a great place to take young teens/older kids and teach them some table manners and some points on finer dining.

If you go for a special evening out, be sure to make reservations and ask for a table by the window - we were not disappointed. We are huge proponents of buying local, so it is a bonus to have such a wonderful place and be able to support a local business!

Dine here - I don't think you will be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rikkirn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good food,service & setting”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Found this charming restaurant as we were heading to the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum & Library. I loved the setting in this historical home. We noticed on the way in to town that the parking lot was quite full at lunchtime. So on our way out of town we decided to stop for dinner. Again, very busy for a tuesday at 6pm. I understand why. Great service,very good food & reasonably priced. It was a very nice ending to our quick trip to historical Springfield.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pugzx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Plains
Level Contributor
296 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Okay seafood for Springfield”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is an old favorite in the area, and for midwestern seafood, isn't bad. Service was very friendly and fast, selection is good, and the food was average. Prices were very reasonable for early evening. Area doesn't have a lot of good choices, so this was a good choice. Would eat there again, and recommend, but don't expect 4 star dining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dreamtraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant - great food”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We loved the appetizers (oysters Rockefeller, stuffed mushrooms and escargot). I had the bay platter with lobster tail. Shrimp, scallops and lobster were excellent. The orange roughy was not great. This was the only item our group didn't like. The restaurant has an old feel. We found it to be unique and interesting. So much better than the the chain restaurants you can find anywhere. $6.99 or $8.99 for these kinds of appetizers? I'm not urge how anyone could call that expensive these days.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMomRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chesapeake Seafood House also viewed

 

Been to Chesapeake Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing