We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic atmosphere”

Chesapeake Seafood House
Ranked #7 of 491 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Since 1983 Chesapeake Seafood House has been serving Springfield IL with fresh seafood and hand cut steaks. We take pride in the community and in our dishes. Not much has changed over the years. Serving winning recipes that people have counted on being the same year after year. We don't want to take away anyone's favorites. Consistent quality has been the key to our success. Choosing only the freshest and finest seafood, steaks and vegetables makes us everyone's favorite restaurant in Central Illinois. We serve both locals and large tour buses who are visiting Springfield or just passing through. Once you visit Chesapeake Seafood House, you will be back!
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We havebeen to this restaurant several times. We have enjoyed it every time. The food was very good and the wait staff were very accomodating. We are planning to return again this week for our 57th anniversary

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank changeling67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Chesapeake Seafood House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 295 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

The building this restaurant is in is from the 1800's. So don't expect the Ritz - it's not. But, the food is excellent. Our waitress was very good as well. Only downside was - Take a sweater. IT WAS COLD!!! One woman had a coat on with her hood tied :( The captain's platter was excellent with deep fried lobster in the shell - don't know how they do it. but ITS AMAZING.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Long1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Chesapeake Seafood House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

thank you for your review ,we will work on it being to cold we purchased all new ac units trying to get used to the setting thank you very much hope we see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I should have known better than to go to a seafood place in central United States. However, I did thinking it would be fine, but it wasn't. The food was greasy, poorly prepared, and rushed out to push through lots of folks. This was more like a cheap fast food sit down place than a nice seafood restaurant. The service was good, fast, and efficient but not friendly. The salad was just chopped up iceberg lettuce, the dressing out of a jar. The fish was supposed to be halibut but was almost unrecognizable and covered with some kind of unpleasant gravy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Chesapeake Seafood House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for writing your review of our business. We are very concerned with the experience you describe. Rest assured that all reviews, especially critical ones, are treated as top priority by me and our staff. We owe our very existence to how our clientele regard us and we will continue to do everything in that relentless pursuit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was in springfield on business, the food & service was excellent. A must try. This place is wonderful. Anthony was great & very attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Chesapeake Seafood House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

thank you for your very nice review we pride ourselves in your long term employees and love when customers give them good reviews it will be mentioned to him with thanks we hope to see you again thankyou ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Visited for a wedding party. The service was slow but extremely friendly and welcoming. Had the steak and it was alright, just kind of stringy. The over all dinner was pleasant and we would return again.

2  Thank Shadowhorse01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Owner at Chesapeake Seafood House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

than you for your review we will take up the issue of your steak where we purchase are beef again thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chesapeake Seafood House also viewed

 

Been to Chesapeake Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing