We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Dinner, Improved Service, Too Pricy”
Review of Sebastian's Hideout - CLOSED

Sebastian's Hideout
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Monroe Street
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
154 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Dinner, Improved Service, Too Pricy”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I've been to Sebastian's before and have rated it on this site; fair as I recall. The food is still good and the service has vastly improved. Waitress actually seemed pleased we were there, was both pleasant and prompt. Prices are still out of line with a steak at $40+.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
foodieil
Level Contributor
96 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, but slow service”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We dined at Sebastions for the first time last weekend and had a wonderful dinner. We ordered the crabcake and filet duo, which was delicious, and quite a large serving. Our server was extremely friendly and nice, but was too busy to give anyone stellar service. It seemed like one server was given the entire basement as her section, which was just too much for one person to handle. We will return because the food was good, and will hope service is better next time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unpleasant Bartender”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I have been to Sebastian's twice in the last 6 months. Both times were made very unpleasant by a female bartender. I wish I knew her name. I most recently was in on October 17th, so if management reads this maybe they can narrow it down. Anyway, if you go to order any drink other than wine from the bar, be prepared for a scolding & then a presentation from her on all of her extensive knowledge and expertise in wine. She will probably also go on and on about how she used to work at various places in Chicago and now she has landed in Springfield IL and how awful that is for her. Also, if you don't leave right at 9pm, she will crank the music up so loud that you can't hear what your company is saying, then promptly shut the music off and announce in a very unprofessional tone that she must close the place NOW as she has another bartending gig to get to. Sorry, but I spent a good chunk of money on food and drink at this restaurant so being treated like that is quite a disappointment. I will be in no hurry to return.

Helpful?
6 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Owner at Sebastian's Hideout, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I would like to first personally apologize for your experience at Sebastian's Hideout on Thursday, October 17th, 2013 per your TripAdvisor comments. We strive to make every guests experience as perfect as possible and we obviously fell short with your most recent visit. My partner and I have reviewed our security cameras and interviewed staff with regards to this incident as we take all complaints very serious. We spoke personally with the employee in question that evening and she has admittedly denied any service issues and wrote a lengthy letter explaining her contention that this review may have been posted vindictively. Business was seemingly slow that evening and she gave us details with times about all of her guests that evening that appear to check out via cameras. Please help us resolve this controversy and help us improve our service. Please contact Chris or Vic at 217-789-8988 or chrishanken0007@gmail.com / victorlanzotti@yahoo.com to share more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
154 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Food, Cafeteria Service”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We went there twice after moving to Springfield. The food was very good, and the steaks were excellent. The service... well to say they needed training would be an understatement, they had no clue. And it is dark and feels a bit dingy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Should be Renamed Sebastian's Cave”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The food and service at Sebastian's Hideout were very good, but, the place is extremely dark and the decor is outdated and uninviting. Just a blah atmosphere. We both had the Beef Duo - filet and short ribs. They were quite tasty and properly prepared. The Lobster Bisque was excellent. Although it was a little pricey, we think the quality of the food was worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sebastian's Hideout also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing