We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice find”

Augie's Front Burner
Reserve with OpenTable
Augie's Front Burner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 484 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: E Washington St
Description: Augie’s Front Burner is a locally owned, owner operated dining establishment that has served the Springfield area since 1997. Owner August Mrozowski is committed to offering all of his guests an exceptional, casual yet elegant, dining experience. A proud supporter of local businesses and local farmers, Augie’s Front Burner also offers catering for parties and special events.August Mrozowski, owner and chef of Augie’s Front Burner, started his culinary career in Springfield at the age of 13. Following in his father’s footsteps, he developed a passion for the culinary arts and worked at the Cafe L'Europe in Sarasota Florida for 19 years. In 1992, August opened his own restaurant, and in 1997 he returned home where he opened Augie’s Front Burner in Springfield. Augie’s overriding desire is to present his guests with the freshest and most interesting products available on the market. A strong supporter of other local businesses, Augie can be spotted weekly in the local farmers’ markets; he makes a point of knowing the best seasonal items that are available and creates his menus around those products. August’s creative flair can clearly be seen when it comes to his food presentation. He believes that fine dining is a multi-sensory experience, and he ensures that each plate is constructed and garnished beautifully so that when it arrives at the table, diner’s are ready to take in a flavorful, texture-filled culinary delight.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were in town for one night at the State House inn. We did not want to eat at the hotel so we walked to this place. The city center area looked closed down until we came to this restaurant. The staff was nice and pleasant. Our food was good and we were happy we ate here instead of the boring hotel food. There may be other places open in the city downtown area but this was just the place for us.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baba-Kahawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    66
    9
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“How to overcome adversity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I were staung at Hilton in Springfield on vacation and Open Table got us a reservation on what I thought would be a slow Monday night, but the joint was jumping, no empty tables. The service was friendly, not pretentious, and attentive. The drinks came quickly, the appetizers also appeared within ten minutes of placing our order. But then we sat for over an hour before the entrees arrived. I tend to be very patient about these things but in this case I inquired if something was wrong and the waiter explained that they had an apprentice chef learning the menu and they had brought him in on Monday night expecting only 30 or so diners but 90+ booked a table, so as the waiter said he was a bit overwhelmed. But the food when it arrived was perfect and no corners had been cut in terms of flavor, preparation, or presentation. The waiter gave us a free glass of wine and a free very yummy warm chocolate desert to make up for the wait. I would definitely go back again, just give the apprentice chef some extra slack.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I stopped in after checking the reviews on Trip Advisor and oh how Im glad I did! I had the short ribs since so many on here had enjoyed them, and they were perfecty cooked with nice sized portions. Also had the arugula pear salad which was a bit overpriced for what you got but was good. I sat at the bar and the bartender was friendly and helpful with the menu. The only real issue was the decor was kind of weird for the style of restaurant, but I dont get caught up in that, I will take great food every time. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sean_hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channahon, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This restaurant has delicious food with lovely presentation. They have outdoor seating which was very nice..except for street noise at times. Our waiter was excellent and attentive. Tried the short ribs...very tender and good. Another diner had the cod and said it was the best ever. We truly enjoyed our experience. Can't comment on the inside of the restaurant as we really didn't see it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovesaroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis mo
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Downtown eatery with very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a friend who lives in Springfield. There were 6 of us who made reservations on a Friday morning for that evening. Three of us had the scallops that we felt were cooked to perfection. One in our party had the fish special, one had Jambalaya special, and one had the short ribs. All were pleased. The short ribs were unusually tender and flavorful. Our table was in the back near the bathroom and did not have quite the same atmosphere as the front of the restaurant, but we hardly noticed since we were having such a good time. Waiter was excellent; just attentive enough to meet our needs but not intrusive. Reasonably priced wine list and could order by the glass also. Majority of the patrons on a Friday night were dressed in business casual attire.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tnmjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Augie's Front Burner also viewed

 

Been to Augie's Front Burner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing