We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as always”

Augie's Front Burner
Reserve with OpenTable
Augie's Front Burner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 486 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: E Washington St
Description: Augie’s Front Burner is a locally owned, owner operated dining establishment that has served the Springfield area since 1997. Owner August Mrozowski is committed to offering all of his guests an exceptional, casual yet elegant, dining experience. A proud supporter of local businesses and local farmers, Augie’s Front Burner also offers catering for parties and special events.August Mrozowski, owner and chef of Augie’s Front Burner, started his culinary career in Springfield at the age of 13. Following in his father’s footsteps, he developed a passion for the culinary arts and worked at the Cafe L'Europe in Sarasota Florida for 19 years. In 1992, August opened his own restaurant, and in 1997 he returned home where he opened Augie’s Front Burner in Springfield. Augie’s overriding desire is to present his guests with the freshest and most interesting products available on the market. A strong supporter of other local businesses, Augie can be spotted weekly in the local farmers’ markets; he makes a point of knowing the best seasonal items that are available and creates his menus around those products. August’s creative flair can clearly be seen when it comes to his food presentation. He believes that fine dining is a multi-sensory experience, and he ensures that each plate is constructed and garnished beautifully so that when it arrives at the table, diner’s are ready to take in a flavorful, texture-filled culinary delight.
Western Springs, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good as always”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Lunch at augies was good as always. Waiter was nice and knowledgeable. Interesting menu and good options. Favorite place to go in Springfield. Wish they were open for lunch on Saturday.

Helpful?
Thank fullpricej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    68
    9
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Went to Augie's in February . This is a regular place for me to visit and it is always good. I had the roasted chicken. So delicious. The chicken was perfect. My husband had the salmon. He really enjoyed it. The service is always good and they have a great wine selection. One of my favorite places.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carlinda6665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An exceptional meal at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Augies' was great. There were 7 of us with a reservation. Seating was quick and the wait staff were very professional. I enjoyed the eclectic decore and the fact that the tables were not too close togeather (a common problem I've found with small restaurants). We were there for Thrifty Thursdays which meant a 3 course meal at a fantastic price. The small Ceasar salad was followed by one of five entrees. I had the chicken Cordon Blue which was fantastic. Desert was supposed to be an apple & pear crisp, but they ran out. The subsititue desert of bread puddling was very good, although I could have used a bit more whiskey sauce. It was a very pleasent evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“First class dining”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you like first class dining, go to Augie's. For a smallish restaurant in the downtown area, it easily rates 4 stars (out of 5). The menu is only one page. There is a separate wine menu, which I am unable to attest to.
However, the dinner selections cover the basic range: beef, lamb, fish and chicken. Our small group was given adequate time to look over the menu; The waiter described the specials of the day, being patient to answer questions about the various items on the menu. The food was delivered with little delay and met every expectation for a good meal.
The seating was comfortable and the atmosphere relaxing. The waiter seemed to be there whenever he was needed, attending to such minor special requests that usually occur.
A tip was not automatically added to the bill, as many restaurants to with groups but at the bottom of the ticket, there were suggested amounts for 15, 20 and 25 %.
Overall, the prices were higher than average but for the surroundings, a fair price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Les E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield IL
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun Lunch”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Went for lunch with a friend. We were seated immediately. The decor of this restaurant is very unusual, but I found it charming. Our server was friendly, but not too attentive. It took a while for for him to take our order, even though it didn't appear to be too busy. But when the food arrived, it turned out to be worth the wait. My lady friend and I both started with a cup of Lobster Bisque. Very creamy and tasty. She had the Argula Salad, and I had the Crispy Goat Cheese Salad. We both added chicken to the salad for an additional $3; shrimp and salmon are also available for a small additional charge. The salads were excellent. The goat cheese was especially tasty. I was impresssed with the wine list; fairly extensive for Springfield, and very reasonably priced (they offer half off on selected bottles on Tuesday nights). We had a bottle of Chehalem Three Vineyards Pinot Gris 2012 for $35, and it complemented our meal nicely. Portion sizes are quite adequate; my friend didn't finish her salad, and they boxed the leftovers for her to take home. All in all, I was impressed with Augie's Front Burner, and would like to return sometime to try it for dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daver852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Augie's Front Burner also viewed

 

Been to Augie's Front Burner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing