We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal paired with great Bourbon's”

Augie's Front Burner
Reserve with OpenTable
Augie's Front Burner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 485 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: E Washington St
Description: Augie’s Front Burner is a locally owned, owner operated dining establishment that has served the Springfield area since 1997. Owner August Mrozowski is committed to offering all of his guests an exceptional, casual yet elegant, dining experience. A proud supporter of local businesses and local farmers, Augie’s Front Burner also offers catering for parties and special events.August Mrozowski, owner and chef of Augie’s Front Burner, started his culinary career in Springfield at the age of 13. Following in his father’s footsteps, he developed a passion for the culinary arts and worked at the Cafe L'Europe in Sarasota Florida for 19 years. In 1992, August opened his own restaurant, and in 1997 he returned home where he opened Augie’s Front Burner in Springfield. Augie’s overriding desire is to present his guests with the freshest and most interesting products available on the market. A strong supporter of other local businesses, Augie can be spotted weekly in the local farmers’ markets; he makes a point of knowing the best seasonal items that are available and creates his menus around those products. August’s creative flair can clearly be seen when it comes to his food presentation. He believes that fine dining is a multi-sensory experience, and he ensures that each plate is constructed and garnished beautifully so that when it arrives at the table, diner’s are ready to take in a flavorful, texture-filled culinary delight.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal paired with great Bourbon's”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I was a solo diner this trip and could not have been happier with my meal. The scallops and short rib were out of this world good and the the bread pudding was incredible. Great evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PJsamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    67
    9
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of fun”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We visited Springfield with the intent of seeing the Lincoln museum. Stayed at the State House Inn and decided to come here because it was a short walk from the hotel. Overall the food was really good. The food items had unique handmade flavors. Since we were there on a Thursday, we had the opportunity to choose from the Thrift Thursday menus which offered a three course meal for $12.99, which was a bargain. Between the three of us, we enjoyed the fried oysters, crab cakes, several evening specials and a dessert. All were very good. Our waiter was very forgetful -- he forgot our wine, did not prepare the checks correctly - we had instructed him to prepare separate checks (before we ordered) and he presented one check at the end. He also forgot several other items and seemed distracted throughout our meal. Would probably give 5 stars if not for the really strange waiter. We would definitely visit again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryjon4845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
886 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Decent gourmet food”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Augie's has a gourmet air about it. The wine list is very nice, even the by the glass selection, but there is a great disparity in the volume of the white vs red wine pours. The cocktails were somewhat lacking in subtle flavors. The food was very tasty and had a good variety of flavor profiles.
The service was somewhat lacking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not worth the cost”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We went here while on vacation because my husband was in the mood for a steak. The food was good, but it wasn't worth it for the cost in my opinion...we actually were debating about picking up something extra on the way back to our hotel because of how small the portion sizes were.

You're looking at $20-$35 per person. And while the staff was friendly and didn't care that my husband and I were dressed in jeans and t-shirts, the attire is DEFINITELY NOT casual. 90% of the people in there were in suits/business clothes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Ate here the other night while in town for business. My fiancé came with this trip and we stumbled upon Augies.

Our waitress described each special and assisted us in our choices.

Appetizer: crab cake. Delicious. Crispy outside. Full of flavor. Didn't taste fishy at all.
Main course: me..pasta of the moment...shrimp, asparagus, creamy garlic sauce. Smaller portion the. I was hoping for but it was spectacular. Nice favors. Great presentation. Fiancé....pork tenderloin medallions with mashed sweet potatoes and apple chutney. Generous portion. Mashed sweet potatoes had a subtle spice to them.
Desert: Crete brûlée. Tough to screw this up. Was perfect.

Waitress helped me pick out a locally brewed beer, answered all of our questions. She even helped the rather grumpy vegetarian couple next to us with their selections. Even going as far as saying Augies would alter most dishes to suit their needs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arejay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Augie's Front Burner also viewed

 

Been to Augie's Front Burner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing