We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Fritz's Wagon Wheel
Ranked #53 of 485 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

In Springfield for one night on spec, fritz's suggested in tourist pamphlet. The menu had a good range and the meal was very tasty, and well priced. Best thing about it was that it wasn't a cookie cutter chain restaurant with which one becomes too familiar when travelling. Pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cantrall, IL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat... Full Menu”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Fritz's Wagon Wheel is a great place to take the family (kids included) for a meal. One time they even took couple grandkids to kitchen to help make some very special ice cream sundaes. Very friendly place to eat and they have a wide number of selections on their menu. Great food, great service, great place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, alright food. High prices.”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I used to love this place, locally owned, cozy atmosphere.

The food quality has gone down remarkably over the last few years.

The fried chicken is still the best in the city.

Tyler, is an excellent waiter, request him if possible.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“Have NEVER had a bad meal there”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Servings are spacious! Never hungry when we leave, Children love the shoes, husband loves the steaks and I love the salads! Rolls are to die for as well that honey butter to the hips! Servers are so friendly and eager to meet our needs! LOVE IT, Drive from Quincy Illinois, which is over 120 miles just to eat there monthly!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant, comfort food”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

You won't get the most contemporary fare at Fritz's, but you'll get really good, hearty favorites.

Seemingly a favorite of the older set (at 30 it seems like I am usually the youngest person eating in the restaurant), my husband and I love to eat at Fritz's when we want to go somewhere, relax in a booth and eat something that's good and comforting.

The fried chicken is great, but my favorite is the steak salad. At $12.99 it's a steal--and the dressings are homemade, which is awesome. My husband usually gets the friend shrimp platter, but we've had the steak, ribs, fish--all have been great.

Also, the desserts are AWESOME. Their coconut cream and key lime pies are always delicious!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amysimsbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fritz's Wagon Wheel also viewed

 

Been to Fritz's Wagon Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing