We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but WORST steaks EVER!!”
Review of Old Luxemburg Inn

Old Luxemburg Inn
Ranked #51 of 487 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Springfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but WORST steaks EVER!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Read about this restaurant's Wednesday night specials - bacon wrapped filet (one of my friend's favorites) and ribeye (one of mine) - so decided to try it. Read reviews about the iffy neighborhood and run down decor, but hey, some of the best food is in little 'hole in the wall' joints in iffy parts of town, so that didn't deter us.

Staff were very friendly when we arrived and we soon had our drinks and a basket with 2 rolls and some crackers in it. Rolls were warm and good - would have been nice to be offered more. Dinner salad - and I use that term loosely - consisted of some lettuce in a bowl with one wedge of tomato on top. It was fine, as lettuce goes. Steaks came with a baked potato, which was on the smallish side but was cooked well, so it was actually fairly good. However, my ribeye was tough to cut, rubbery to chew and had no flavor whatsoever. It's appearance was a strange grayish color and it was lying in water on the plate. ??? My friend's filet was not recognizable as a filet and also had no flavor. We both left quite a bit of our steak on the plate, yet this did not prompt anyone to ask why or even ask us how our meal was (I was prepared to reply 'chewy and flavorless'). Although our glasses were refilled regularly, at no time were we ever asked how things were, which I found strange at the time but now know why. We opted to just pay our check and leave, vowing never to return. We went somewhere else and had dessert - the best part of the entire evening!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tlawrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    4
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Slipping a little”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We visit here a couple times a year and have usually had really good food. This time however it was a little different. The French Fried Lobster Tail seemed overcooked and my Pork Chops were not seasoned at all. We will go back again and I'll ask for food to be seasoned.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiremaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Solid food, good service”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We had my little brother's wedding rehearsal dinner here. About 30 ppl. Everything was ordered off the regular menu. Despite 30 apps, salads, and entrees, everything came out in a timely manner.
Food was solid enough (fried chicken was pretty f'n solid and everyone else seemed to enjoy their steaks).
The two servers working the room were fast and efficient and everyone was friendly, especially the owner (/chef?). He even ran to the store himself to accommodate our impromptu champagne toasts.
Price was excellent. It ended up costing about $30/head, including alcohol.
Overall it was a good place. I would definitely go again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank travels_on_belly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city north
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stopped in Springfield while travelling thru the state so we could visit Lincoln Museum and Presidential Library. Not sure where to eat dinner and based on Yelp and Trip Advisor reviews gave it a try. Everything was very good and reasonably priced. Husband loved the baked potato with cheese sauce. Both of us had the 10 oz. filet and it was perfectly cooked and the flavor was excellent! Atmosphere was quaint, played old Sinatra and swing era tunes which I loved! Cannot imagine why you would not give this place a try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank htimsfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best In Springfield”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If you want a great filet for a very reasonable price, make sure you try this restaurant. The service and quality has improved during the past few years and the manager is very friendly. The waitresses are the best in Springfield. If you are new to the springfield area, make sure you give it a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank illinoisfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Luxemburg Inn also viewed

 
Springfield, IL
 

Been to Old Luxemburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing