We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scheels

Scheels
Ranked #1 of 10 Shopping in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
St. Louis MO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

OMG This is one of the neatest places I have been to. It is a sporting goods store, (Cabelas, Bass Pro), but each department has interactive play. My kids and Grands had a great time. They bowled, Hit golf balls, played a shooting game, There is even a Ferris Wheel in the store, that adults can ride on. Restaurant has good food. If you're going to Springfield or just passing thru, make sure to stop. Figure on spending a few hours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank judtalk2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    17
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
150 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fun experience, out of towners love it. ”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Out of town guests always request a visit to this store. The indoor Ferris wheel is huge and costs one dollar. The huge salt water, tropical aquarium is fun. There is a diver that goes in and cleans it daily. The kids like the playground.There is a little bowling alley. There are shooting games, simulated race cars, simulated batting cages and golf cages. The robotic presidents are interesting. There's always a free sample of fudge at the cafe. Frankly, we never shop there. It's rather pricey. We do go there for an hour or so just to play.

Helpful?
Thank brianlovesbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over Price and Bad Service”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Over all Scheels is a neat place with a lot to see from stuff animals to saltwater fish tank... But this place is way over price and the attitude in some of the areas is poor.

The regular prices are higher than most sporting good stores, and they are very stingy with their sales.... You can get better deals going to other comparable stores.

The archery area has excellent staff, excellent service, and they are knowledgeable, but the gun area is a completely different story.... They are nice till you pay and sign paperwork then it all changes, and they are not knowledgeable about the products.

I have purchased allot of Bass Pro brand name red head, and Cable's brand name and they have always been great quality for the price you pay... Scheels brand name products on the other hand is poor quality and I have had nothing but issues with them.

Even though you can get everything you need there, I would prefer to shop around and get better prices at other stores.

Helpful?
Thank Stolly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were in town to see all the Lincoln attractions, but we visited this too. Impressive fish tank. There's a large sign on the wall about a fish feeding daily at 4:00 pm. However, it did not happen. We asked about it and were told 1 day a week there's a diver that goes in. The other days they just throw some food in, however, it did not happen at 4:00. The store is quite large. In the center is a Ferris wheel. Also there was an Abe Lincoln who talked. There was also a large display of mounted animals. Also there was a nice section of home decor. The rest is sporting good store. I would not say this is a must do, but it was a fun diversion from the historical attractions.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl4674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,273 reviews
637 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“Ride the Ferris wheel inside the store!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I love these sorts of places: part theme park, part sporting goods store. This would only happen in America!

Ride the ferris wheel, which is astonishingly large and visit the historical figures dotted about and you can even buy some sporting goods...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scheels also viewed

 

Been to Scheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing