We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, Clean, and Modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is by far the most modern Country Inn and Suites I have stayed at. I am not sure when it opened, but everything was spotless. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant to talk with. The cookies at night were a nice added touch. Our room was well done. They definitely designed the room for business people (or families travelling with teens) because there were outlets everywhere including 2 on each side of each queen beds, outlets on the lamp on the nightstand, and outlets on the desk. I wish all hotels had this! The beds were comfortable and the bathroom well-designed. The breakfast included eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles, yogurt and all of the continental breakfast items. The food was fresh and was replenished quickly. The only negatives I would say is the construction on the gas station in front of the hotel and the configuration of the parking lot, which put us quite far from the from entrance when we arrived around 8:30. Note: If you put this in your GPS, it does not exactly take you to the hotel. If coming from I-55, it is across the parking lot of the Bob Evans (immediately on the left).

Room Tip: Upper floor away from the elevator. Unfortunately in this hotel, there really is no good view (cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Green24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel on our way to St. Louis. An overnight to make time for the Lincoln attractions. The hotel is brand new and in the new style that Country Inn and Suites is changing to. Gone is the country feel, replaced with a very modern look. Both looks manage to give the same soothing, comfortable feel, but the new look was due. The beds were extremely comfortable!! The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. A cool looking gas fireplace welcomes you when you enter. It's a small property, but they made great use of the space. The pool is quite small but my kids still enjoyed it. The workout room is also on the small side, but it has a Life Fitness treadmill, elliptical and bike and some weight equipment. Breakfast was great. Fresh, well stocked and a nice variety. The location is a bit of a drive from downtown Springfield but very manageable and worth the price savings.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SleepSeekingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I've stayed in Country Inn locations before, but never in a brand new one. Though this has the fireplace you'll find in all their hotels, the decor was distinctly modern and very nice at that.

The location is easy to find, right off I-55, about 15 minutes from the downtown attractions everybody goes to Springfield for.

Staff was helpful. Breakfast was good, although as a tea drinker, I was disappointed that they had no regular breakfast tea.

The internet worked. Towels are nice and fluffy. I would stay here again if in Springfield.

Room Tip: I could hear traffic from I-55, so if you are a light sleeper, you might want to request a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a relatively cheap hotel with good reviews. Based on other reviews we chose this Country Inn.

Good: New, clean, modern.
Bad: Tiny rooms, no hair dryer, room key malfunction, directions on GPS wrong.

While I sort of agree that's it's clean, I guess you gotta pick your poison.

I would prefer to pay a little more and have all the amenities. This hotel is state of the art with LED lighting, pass-card room keys, etc. But, they could not get my room key to open the workout room door. After rekeying, etc and several trips back to the front desk, they finally had to use the master key to let me in the workout area. Not a huge deal, but a real inconvenience nonetheless.

After showering I was looking around for the hair dryer, and guess what? Nope. They provide an iron (who irons?!), but no dryer. Go figure.

The room has two queen beds, but there is hardly enough room for two. I would hate to try four people in this room!

So, all in all, not a bad stay, just not a good one. I would probably pass next time. There is a Crowne Plaza and a Drury right across the street. I have stayed at both and they are sized to meet my needs with All the amenities. I guess you just gotta pick what you are willing to do without.

Our GPS took us within a block of the hotel. After searching and not finding it, we called the hotel. They said that GPS is wrong. Yup. It is directly behind a huge new filling station being built and is not well marked. Call for directions.

Stayed: March 2014
4  Thank Novavettnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our Debate team stayed at this hotel recently and we cannot say enough good things about it. It is a brand new hotel (only open for 3 1/2 months) so everything is shiny and new. It is as beautiful as any five star hotel with tasteful stone and natural wood adornments in the lobby and dining room, and raised sinks and and rain showers in the baths. The employees and manager were friendly and helpful. The breakfast offerings were extensive and fresh. But most of all, it was clean! We brought a loud crew of teenagers with us but this did not ruffle the staff. There were other teams of high school students there for various competitions, but the sound-proofing ensured everyone a quiet night sleep. We will book this again next year provided we make state again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed at the end of a week long family adventure and were very impressed with this hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel was very new, very clean, and very welcoming. The bed was the most comfortable of the week. The room was nice with a king bed and a sofa sleeper which our 16 and 12 year old did not complain about sleeping on. Breakfast was in a very well designed dining area and the food was fresh and good. This is probably the best Country Inn that we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights in March of 2014. Hotel is only one year old. Everything was very clean. All the staff were uber friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Continental breakfast was one of the best we've every had with good variety and kept fresh.. The rooms are well designed with plenty of outlets for all your devices. Beds were very comfortable. Very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 38 in Springfield
221 reviews
3.6 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
762 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
721 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield

Address: 3092 Adlai Stevenson Dr, Springfield, IL 62703-4422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range: £52 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Interstate 55 next door and downtown Springfield only 6.5 miles away, the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield, IL provides guests an unbeatable location for their business or leisure travels. You're sure to feel at ease at this warm, inviting hotel, where the cool decor and convenient services such as an indoor pool encourage relaxation. Get energized each day with the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, surf the free high-speed Internet access and work out in the fitness center. You can save with the free scheduled hotel shuttle service to Abraham Lincoln Capital Airport and major events at the Prairie Capitol Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing