We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at 835

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inn at 835
Ranked #1 of 4 Springfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2008

This is not a typical B&B. We never once met the owners, but this was our "Valentines Day" stay so we wanted peace and quiet. The Wisteria suite was gorgeous with the biggest Jacuzzi I have ever seen. Breakfast in the morning was huge and fullfilling. Ask for the Temptation package when you stay. They were chocolate covered strawberries and champagne left in your room. It was fabulous! I can not say enough about this place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not enough toilet paper.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mouser81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    73
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
196
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2007

Since all your other reviewers report that the Inn at 835 is a fine place, I'll just say that I agree. It may be significant that I generally don't like B&Bs (where DO they get those mattresses?), but I did enjoy the 835.

  • Liked — Friendly service, nice room
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelnjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2007

Springfield: The Inn at 835:" Not a Bed and Breakfast"
Date: September, 2007
Reviewer: A TripAdviser Member, Chicago IL

This Arts and Crafts Apartment Building has been ambitiously restored to its handsome past. The room we enjoyed was on the third floor,(yes there is an elevator) large comfortable, airy, and with a private bath original to the building. A true example of excellent restoration, that is walking distance to everything exciting in Springfield.

The first day we were met by the hired staff. We found them to be friendly and the rooms and bedding were always kept spotless. We did not meet the owner. There is a half acre parking lot and an addition larg enough for wedding receptions. The event that was held on our last evening.

We drove up the last evening, the parking lot was full, the front door to the inn was open, and we were asked by strangers what business we had being there.The wedding reception took over the common areas, left no space for the advertised evening wine and relaxation, which would have been perfect for our last night. We felt sequestered to our room, and though we were on the third floor the noise was loud.

This is not a bed and breakfast. The owner is a caterer and he has built on to the original building to have banquets. Which might be fine if it did not impose upon the room guests. The breakfasts are advertised as gourmet cooked and can accommodate any dietary needs. We had the same breakfast daily. We told them on the first day ,no eggs, dairy, or meat , we were never presented a breakfast that accommodated us the next two mornings..

I did leave a note to the owner and he has since sent a letter of apology. This is a great place, but not for some one looking for a bed and breakfast.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank sandtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innat835, Owner at Inn at 835, responded to this review, 29 January 2008
In response to our past guest that have expressed disappointment in the use of the common areas during special events in the main historic Inn, we have just finished the renovation of a "register guests only" parlor and business center. The spacious "guest only" parlor has evening wine and cheese, games and a common television(although each room has a TV,) as well as a business center.

At the Inn we alter our breakfast menu daily, but we always provide a full Midwestern hot breakfast . On rare occasions special request may pose some challenges, since our first Vegan request in September 2007, we have created a special Vegan breakfast menu - although we need a 24 hour notice prior to arrive to accommodate this. I personally apologize for not having this in place prior to the request.

The special events at the Inn are an important part of the operations, it provides us the necessary resource to maintain and continue improving a historic 100 year old building. We diligently strive in providing the best possible experience for event goers and overnight guest. Again, challenges, but we always listen to suggestions and constructive criticisms and try to improve base on this. A direct result from listening to our guests, we have finished installing individual thermostatic controls in each guest room, as well as a new guest friendly phone system. By the end of February our guest fitness center will be open. I thank you for your thoughts.

My husband and I opened the Inn for 11 years, we have worked 24/7 for 9 years of that. We have graduated to a rewarding level, where we have hired staff to assist with breakfast, reservations and housekeeping/ laundry - I can not apologize for this, for it is a good thing. It has helped us grow and offer more services and amenities to our registered guest. As is mine and my husband, so is our team's number one priority,... you the guest and nothing other.

A bed and breakfast or not? That is the question. The Inn exceeds the services of a typical B&B, we strive to accommodate the interest and needs of the leisure and business traveler. We have spent years doing research, travel and armed with a business background; my husband and I created an all in-compassing business model for the Inn At 835 that we feel serves more than the vast majority of our guest.

Please come visit us again and see the improvements. Happy journeys, The Inn at 835 Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, WI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

We had a great time at this inn. The breakfast was delicious, the staff, friendly and helpful and the rooms were comfortable and decorated to fit the historical setting of Springfield. Our room also had a very spacious bath.
Wine was served in the late afternoon in a lovely sitting room and we were treated to cookies each day. We were especially appreciative of the location, as we were able to walk to the historic sites and restaurants.
A wedding reception was hosted one evening, so there was a lot of activity, but the noise level was not a problem on the upper floors.
We would recommend a stay at this lovely inn.

  • Liked — location, historic setting, breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2007

My husband and I came for our anniversary weekend and had a lovely stay! (This is my second time and his first time staying at the Inn at 835.) The inn keeper was so helpful with dinner suggestions (Augie's restaurant and Gallino's Pizza is wonderful!) and even held our keys while we went for a midday run. The downtown area is fabulous to visit. The hotel is close to everything, we parked at the b & b and walked everywhere. We love this place and will be coming back.

  • Liked — The comfort, the food (deep fried french toast!), the privacy, the inn keepers
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigSisIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2007

My Sister and I stayed in November of 2006.
We stayed because we had heard/read that there was a high level of paranormal activity there. I lived next door as a child in what is now a parking lot on the building's north side. I always felt like there was something very special about the place.

We were indeed able to capture, audio, video and still pictures and yes we heard noises in our room in the middle of the night which we were not able to explain. but nothing ominous or frightening.

The staff was wonderful, courteous, friendly... they brought us cookies in the evening to our room, there was wine and cheeses down stairs... this place was top notch all the way!

The next morning we were served a fantastic breakfast!

I would highly recommend this place to anyone, business traveler, tourist or paranormal researcher!

Great job in restoring this beautiful place Mr. and Mrs Conn I'm sure Belle is smiling down on you :)

Marie Tucker
Lead Investigator
Midwest Paranormal Society
marie@midwest-paranormal-society.com

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank MPS_Investigations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2006

My husband and I spent our first anniversary at this Inn when we had to make an emergency trip to Illinois rather than taking our originally scheduled vacation.

I found the inn online and was pleased to see that it was even prettier in person than in the pictures. We booked at the last minute but were able to get the room requested. We stayed in the Hydrangea room and absolutely loved it. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. We really enjoyed the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom and the nice toiletries provided.

We thought the staff was gracious and the breakfast tasty. The wine provided in the evening was a nice extra touch and the games and books available for use made it even more fun.

All in all, it was a great stay and I would highly recommend it to visitors to the Springfield area. It was a nice consolation prize for rescheduling our anniversary trip.

  • Liked — The hotel common spaces and rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable.
  • Disliked — The double jacuzzi wasn't quite double but it was still great!
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy the common spaces and evening wine social
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#11 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at 835? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at 835

Property: Inn at 835
Address: 835 S 2nd St, Springfield, IL 62704-2601
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at 835 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At 835 Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing