We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in Springfield”
Review of Inn at 835

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at 835
Ranked #1 of 4 Springfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Springfield”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn for one night during a weekend getaway to see the historical sights of Springfield. The Inn fit us perfectly and also our trip because of the historic feel of the Inn. Our room, the Lilac, was very nice though was one of the smallest rooms. Good relaxing atmosphere, we enjoyed the free movie selection.
Breakfast in the morning was great, although most rooms were occupied we were alone in the dining room. The staff was very helpful.
The only recommendation that I would give is that the shower pressure in our room was very poor, not strong at all. Could have been better. But overall we were happy with the B&B experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    73
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
199
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
184 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We are so glad we decided to stay at the Inn in Springfield during our recent visit to the Lincoln sites. We stayed for three days, enjoyed the breakfasts and the wine and cheese served in late afternoons. The Eisenhower Room fits our needs beautifully. The Victorian decor was beautiful, we had one of the original claw foot bathtubs in this former apartment house from 1920! During the weekend we stayed, there were a few events at the Inn, none of which affected us at all. The train whistle mentioned in other reviews really never bothered us. When we returned to our room in the evening, we found a little basket with home-baked still-warm cookies - every night! There was milled guest soap in the bathroom too. These little extras really made for a terrific B&B experience. Way to go, Inn at 835!

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others, some have balconies, check the website before you reserve your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having stayed at many B&B's throughout the Midwest and Germany, we can honestly say that this B&B's is amongst our top 5. Having been restored perfectly to it's early 20th century charm, it is equipped with every convenience of modern day life. The nightly room rate is reasonable yet the cleanliness is A+. The beds are comfortable and the rooms sound-proof. Our room, the Iris, is charmingly decorated and has a lovely porch which is equipped with a very comfortable sofa and chairs. We sat on the porch each morning and read the newspaper, provided by the B&B. Breakfasts were superb and served conveniently between 8 and 10 a.m. weekends and 7 to 9 weekdays. The housekeeping is meticulous. We had lunch Saturday at the owner's microbrewery downtown. It was fabulous and reasonable. We will return here soon.

Room Tip: I believe there are 12 rooms. We did not see the other rooms. There are 2 floors with rooms, I belie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axelanna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Iowa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Spent the Weekend and loved the experience. Perfect and quiet location within walking to downtown Springfield's restaurants and nightlife. Room was oh so comfortable and had lovely decorations. Great historic building too!

Staff was very friendly and the breakfast was very ample and good.

Room Tip: Book the "Rose", well worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

The building was beautifully restored including gorgeous early 20th century woodwork. Our room was quite comfortable, private, attractive, and clean. I had read that the train was loud but found that it never disturbed us for the three nights we were there. In fact, when I was aware of the train going through town, I quite enjoyed the whistle and the connection to the importance of the railroad in Springfield. It seems that there is no way to escape the train if you are near the Capitol. Breakfast was served during a window of time, which I definitely prefer over a set time. The food was delicious and varied each day. The staff was welcoming but not intrusive. My husband loved the daily delivery of chocolate chip cookies. The Inn at 835 was a great place to relax after exploring the Lincoln sights in and near Springfield.I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Summerfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Many things impressed us during our stay here. First was how quiet the place is. I asked the next morning if there were many other guests in the Inn and was told they were sold out. We never heard a sound. Also, there are railroad tracks nearby. We never heard the train in the room. Our room was large and beautifully appointed. The staff was friendly, courteous, and attentive. The basket of chocolate chip cookies waiting on the doorknob as we checked in was greatly appreciated. If we ever go to Springfield again, we know where we will be staying.

Room Tip: All of their room floor plans are available on their website. This was really helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elwood M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the Inn at 835 for a weekend getaway. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large, comfortable, and lovely. It is within walking distance of most of the site to see in Springfield. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.6 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#12 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at 835? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at 835

Property: Inn at 835
Address: 835 S 2nd St, Springfield, IL 62704-2601
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn at 835 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At 835 Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing