We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College Alum, kids wedding”
Review of Inn at 835

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at 835
Ranked #1 of 4 Springfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“College Alum, kids wedding”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We loved the Gladiolus Suite, extremely large. Traditional décor, nice toiletries, mulled soaps etc. Nice balcony, great location, walking distance to Frank Lloyd Wright hse. and the capitol. Cookies on door homey touch. The staff was great, very accommodating. They accommodated us in the morning with three addional guest couples my husbands college friends that we were down in Springfield with for a wedding, it was nice to spend our last morning dinning with them, brkfst was very good. The other couples were surprised how lovely 835 was.

Room Tip: Very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    75
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
200
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were in the Gladiolus Suite. It was spacious and clean and very Victorian. It had high ceilings and woodwork. The location was terrific for all things Lincoln and for the Frank Lloyd Wright house just around the corner. The staff was helpful. And the breakfasts were wonderful.

Room Tip: They are all different. Don't pick the Gladiolus Suite if you are really tall, maybe over 6'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn at 835. We had a great room, very comfortable. The balcony, though modest in appearance, was a nice plus. Breakfast was a bit crowded, but delicious nonetheless.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook IL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

WE had the Magnolia room. It was a bit smaller than I thought but beautifully decorated and very clean. What we loved most about 835 are all their little touches. For instance a rubber duckie on a towel in the bathroom is just too cute! Specifically loved the basket of fresh homemade cookies on our doorknob each night with a note of the next days weather! It was adorable and quite a surprise. The breakfast was fabulous and NORMAL. Not over the top weird dishes like we've had before. I specificaly loved the blueberry waffle. It was heaven! The innkeeper was nice and helpful and we just loved this place. Plan to go back and stay in the Rose Suite. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone!!

Room Tip: There is an elevator to go up to the third floor so you don't have to carry all your luggage up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 634Laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We booked a room specifically with a veranda and thought that would be a plus. Actually the veranda had a screen door with holes, a wicker chair in ruins and a couch covered with a dirty throw cover. The wood needed scraping and painting. This veranda shouldn't be listed as an extra. Otherwise we found the stay pleasant with a nice room, staff, and meal.
Ken M.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Inn was very clean and comfortable. The B&B is victorian style but the bathrooms are updated. Each room has a slightly different style. Breakfast was included and was very good. Each day it was different and was served quickly (great for business travelers). The the food was very good. I would definately stay there again. Since this is a historic building, the floors are a bit squeeky, but not bad.

Room Tip: Go to the Inn's website to view each room since they are all a bit different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn for one night during a weekend getaway to see the historical sights of Springfield. The Inn fit us perfectly and also our trip because of the historic feel of the Inn. Our room, the Lilac, was very nice though was one of the smallest rooms. Good relaxing atmosphere, we enjoyed the free movie selection.
Breakfast in the morning was great, although most rooms were occupied we were alone in the dining room. The staff was very helpful.
The only recommendation that I would give is that the shower pressure in our room was very poor, not strong at all. Could have been better. But overall we were happy with the B&B experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.6 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.0 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#15 of 38 in Springfield
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at 835? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at 835

Property: Inn at 835
Address: 835 S 2nd St, Springfield, IL 62704-2601
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at 835 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At 835 Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing