We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local fish”

Carter's Fish Market
Ranked #112 of 489 Restaurants in Springfield
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Fishers, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good local fish”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

It's good takeout food. They usually have fried catfish or walleye deep fried. They also sell locally caught fresh fish at a amazing price. No place to sit and eat. This is not a very safe area. So would be careful in night

Helpful?
4 Thank Ubaidullah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, IL
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Don't let the little wooden take out shack with the line standing in front of it scare you off. This is some of the best fish in Springfield. You will leave with a paper bag full of fish and fries.I think they are still only open in the later part of the week, and when they run out of fish they close for the day. There is no more local attraction in Springfield than Carter's. I have seen a line standing in a snow storm to eat there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great take out fried fish!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Saw Carter's shack and tried it at the urging of people waiting in line. Fish was fried almost greaseless with Cajun style spices. Sweet corn dumplings and fried okra right on the money. One order more than enough for two hearty eaters for about 10 bucks. Quite amazing. Went to a park to eat it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank disiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I drive across town for this fish!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

THE best fried fish in Springfield. Fresh and seasoned to perfection, the catfish and walleye baskets are great. Enough fish for 3 sandwiches at a good price. Only problem is there is not a west side location. C-A-R-T-E-R-S!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, IL
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I hate fish, but I love Carters”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I moved from the east coast and was spoiled on the freshness of fish and seafood in general. Since living in the midwest, I avoid it all together since most experiences are less than par. Someone gave me a catfish sandwich from Carters and I about died of happiness. I don't know what they do to their fish, but it's awesome. Only fish I will eat within a five-state region. Makes me happy :)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carter's Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Carter's Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing