We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly fine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mansion View Inn
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

For a budget hotel, I thought Mansion View was great. I refused to spend $170 for the Hilton. Yes, that's right, $170 for a standard double BEFORE tax= stupid, lame, outrageous. Especially since last time I stayed there, it was filthy. And you don't get a better room aside from maybe decor. We were only there for one night (actually, just like 9 hours) so even if Mansion View was bad it would have been tolerable for such a short amount of time. But it wasn't bad at all! We got a double suite and it was $90 after tax. I heard one of the staff tell someone on the phone the rooms were newly renovated. I think they did a sufficient job. The room was clean and comfortable and I don't care about decor, it's not important. But it was perfectly acceptable. The lobby was nice and the staff was really very friendly. I went in to ask if there was a place nearby that sells package liquor and they recommended a place and even offered to call them up to ensure that they sell what I was looking for. And, we were without a bottle opener and they let us use their only wine/bottle opener for the whole night. They also offer free continental breakfast. It's not an awesome breakfast but at least they offer stuff - dry cereal, packaged oatmeal, frozen waffles, etc. I didn't eat the breakfast but I think it's nice for them to have free breakfast at all and I'm not a snob. If you're on a budget and not a snob, you'll be happy with Mansion View. The only "con" would be that it's near where the train runs through town that affected my mates sleep but I'm a heavy sleeper so I didn't notice it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BunnBunn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    26
    26
    23
    25
See reviews for
29
31
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lakebay, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

By far the worst place I have stayed in!
Travel Lodge looks like the Hilton compared to this hotel!
*$79 a night
*Outside entrances/Not the best for safety
*You can hear through the bedroom walls
*The door to the room you could barely open
*The hair dryer was not working-When I told them at the front desk, they thought it was my error. I had to tell another staff member 5 hours later to get it replaced!
*The Television was fuzzy-The remote did not work.
*The telephone in the room was not working.
*The bed was not comfortable.
*There was garbage left in the room from the previous stay.
*The room smelled smokey.
*The shower drain was slow-backing up water.
*You could hear the trains go by at night.
*The heater in the room was not working very well.
*The sink in the bathroom was loose and hard to control the heat.
*The water in the bathroom was yellow.
*The WI Fi in the room was not working.
*The breakfast consisted of a bag of bread for toast, cereal and small donuts.

This is a good location, in the heart of historical Springfield, IL. Walking distance to small shops, the YMCA and restaurants.

I would not waste your time and money to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennessy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Hotel is old and a bit rundown and location is not great - right next to a railroad track. Kind of like a Motel 6 with outside entrances to all the rooms and no amenities. Close to all the downtown historic attractions though, so that was nice. Plus it was very affordable and we were only there one night.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Our first night on the road during our Route 66 adventure last summer, and we were delighted that we'd chosen the Mansion View Inn & Suites. The man on the reception was incredibly friendly and he spent half an hour teaching me about the history of baseball (this is a good thing, although my fiance might disagree). He showed us to our room which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. At night time we found that the trains were very noisy. Breakfast was plentiful. Parking was easy. All the staff were very helpful. Great location for visiting Abraham Lincoln's house (just a couple of blocks away). Overall, it was a very good stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will23C1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is a sketchy place. First we arrived and my wife was immediately uncomfortable, based on the condition of the place. The young lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful; however, once we got in our room, the bad experience began. The smell was awful and the door would hardly open or shut. We went out for a while and came back in a couple hour, just before dark. We were one of a few staying at the hotel - the only other person was notice was a guy that stay outside his door smoking. After we got back in our room, we were nervous, then, the worst happen - A GUY WALKS IN TO OUR ROOM!!!!! I assume they gave someone our room key and he just walks in! We immediately packed up, demanded a refund, and got outta there!!! They were resistant at first but shortly came to senses and issued the refund. WOW! The worst experience ever! Glad no one walked in when we weren't there!!

Room Tip: DON'T STAY HERE!!!! Rooms above the 1st floor are tough to get to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jameshoagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We had a great stay at this clean & cozy place. The staff was very friendly & went an extra mile to update us on the local attractions & restaurants. We even got a complementary upgrade to a King Suite:)
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bikash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel, it was close to everything, the beds were a little hard but the room was clean and the hotel was easy to get too. I like the ample parking. The keys to the rooms are a bit different.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.8 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#12 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Springfield East
Super 8 Springfield East
#31 of 38 in Springfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza
BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza
#15 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion View Inn

Property: Mansion View Inn
Address: 529 S Fourth St, Springfield, IL 62701
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mansion View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 93 room property located in historic downtown Springfield, within walking distance to historic sites and downtown food, shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mansion View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion View Hotel Springfield
Mansion View Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing