We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely town - average hotel”
Review of Mansion View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mansion View Inn
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We got a last minuite booking here on the weekend that it was the Route 66 motheroad festival.. so were quite happy to get anywhere! Staff needed some work and the hotel was tired. But great location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

I think that the only positive thing about the hotel is its location, very close to the Capitol. The room was run down and needed refurbishment. The floor was burnt with iron and had big mark of iron. Heating was very noisy, thus had to switch it off at night. I would say that this is a motel, rather. The breakfast is disappointing, very difficult to find something to eat in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinoG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked on Expedia and room was not even close to the one shown in the promo picture. Andrea B. has it right, this is a motel and despite the name, your only view will likely be the parking lot. The room was small, dingy and dirty. The furnishings are circa 1985. The bathroom was unbelievable. The mirror was completely cracked from top to bottom on one side and was missing a large corner on the other. The finish on the tub was worn off. There are train tracks right behind the hotel so you can expect to hear loud train whistles multiple times throughout the day and night. We were booked for 2 nights but only stayed one because a cockroach was sharing the bathroom with me. The irony is that it wasn't an inexpensive rate, it was comparable to many others at chain hotels. The only positive thing I can say is that it is within walking distance from the Lincoln sites.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Old worn out place. Charged me $15 more than res made at. Scumbags. Door keys won't open worn out locks, NO A/C in breakfast area (it was 96 degrees when I was there). No A/C in lobby, but that didn't bother the Patel owner. Shower barely had water coming out, elect outlets so worn out that your plug won't stay in. There is more, but you get the picture

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Mansion View is a motel. Your room door opens to a balcony or the parking lot. When I entered the room I attempted to switch on the light, there was none. The room smelled of an orange cleaner. The bed was a few feet away from the entry door and window.

Honestly, I did not even make it back to check out the bathroom I knew it was not for me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The place was easy to find with a decent size car park. We were pleased to get an upgrade to a suite, mainly because it was fairly quiet. The room itself was a little tired, but still in a good state or repair and the aircon worked well. As mentioned in other reviews, yes there are trains, however it didn't disturb my sleep and it's pretty hard to avoid the trains anywhere in Springfield, two tracks seem to run straight through the town!

The great thing about this place is the location, it's walking distance to all the main tourist spots in Springfield. Managed to bump into Abraham Lincoln himself wandering through the nearby Lincoln Home district (the whole street is preserved, and it's free!).

If you want a good pub Obed & Isaacs (500 South 6th St) is only a few minutes walk away, serving great beer and food. As a result I manage to miss breakfast for two days running so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smileyfarmerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Based on some other reviews, I was a little hesitant to stay here, however our experience was very positive. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly desk clerk. The room we were given (210) was on the 2nd floor. There is an elevator, but the stairs were close and we didn't use it. The room was a 2 room suite and was very clean and quiet. The exception to this was the train traveling along the back of the hotel several times each day and a couple of times at night. We heard the horns, but it really wasn't a problem for us.

The location is wonderful for visiting the Lincoln home - we walked. It is also very close to the State Capitol and the Governor's Mansion is across the street.

The breakfast was poor, not much left when we went at 8:15 a.m.

All in all a good value if you can handle a train whistle now and again.

Room Tip: The rooms along the back of the hotel are next to the train tracks, the other rooms would probably b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.8 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#16 of 38 in Springfield
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Red Roof Inn Springfield
#27 of 38 in Springfield
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Springfield East
Super 8 Springfield East
#34 of 38 in Springfield
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion View Inn

Address: 529 S 4th St, Springfield, IL 62701-1794
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range: £41 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mansion View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 93 room property located in historic downtown Springfield, within walking distance to historic sites and downtown food, shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mansion View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion View Hotel Springfield
Mansion View Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing