We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE. Downright Rude and Unprofessional Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Illinois
1 review
“DO NOT STAY HERE. Downright Rude and Unprofessional Staff”
Reviewed 14 April 2008

My friend got married and had his reception at this hotel. He rented the Arizona room, basically a big room with a bar, until 2 AM. They were serving expensive mixed drinks. The beer was free complements of the Bride and Groom. We had a keg of Bud Lite and a keg of Miller Lite. Around 11:30 Pm both kegs almost simultaneously were dry, according to the event manager Sherri Irvin. There is no way this could have happened. She told us that if we were to stay in the room we would have to pay for another keg at $150. (A keg in the real world is no more than $80) We all chipped in, the whole 20 of us remaining. We poured three pitchers of beer and took them to our table. As one of my friends sat down to the table, he knocked a glass off the table and broke it. Instantly SHERRI IRVIN walks to our table angry about the mess. She proceeds to take our pitchers of beer and dump them out. Expensive beer we paid for down the drain. Then she and the rest of the staff order us to leave. The time is 12:15 am. We had the room reserved for another hour and forty five minutes, but they made us leave. The groom talked them into letting us stay a little longer, explaining to them the amount of money being spent at their hotel and that the room is reserved until 2 am. At 12:45 am, the third keg was gone. Yeah right we said, but they disconnected the spout to the keg. I can GUARANTEE that the third keg could not be gone within a half an hour between 15 people remaining. At this time the groom wanted to talk to Sherri Irvin, and she told him that she was not going to talk to him at this time. He managed to get a name of someone in upper management to complain to them, however. We angrily went to our rooms to end the night. We all decided to complain to the manager the next morning about the whole ordeal, especially the actions of Event Manager Sherri Irvin. As early as 8:45 the next morning, some of us were up to find that the manager in charge was none other that Sherri Irvin. That's right chased us out because she, SHERRI IRVIN, had to work the next morning. She lied to us about the kegs, dumped out a lot of our beer, and then chased us off. How unprofessional is that from a manager. To think we had been tipping her all night. (she had a jar full of money)
When I went to my room, The beds were hard and the shower turned cold halfway through the shower. The cleaning staff decides they will vacuum the hallway outside my room at 8:45 am. with a high powered, loud, vacuum. The other wing of the hotel, where some of my friends were staying, was under construction, including a room under construction directly connected to the bride and groom's suite. So the bride and groom were up nice and early to the sounds of power tools.
Now the rates. Ten to Twelve of us reserved rooms for a 'group' discount. The bill came up to $72.90 each room. I have negotiated a better deal by myself , alone, several times for a room twice as nice.
Do not stay at this hotel. Staff is rude and unprofessional. They have all kinds of rules and regulations so that they can knit pick and charge your credit card for extra charges. I was very disappointed in the overall experience, mainly the staff.
You would think they would be appreciative of our congregation's business, especially considering we spent good money with them. We had ten rooms ($729.00) + 3 kegs ($450) + the rental of the Arizona room ($600) plus any mixed drinks (many at $5 each) for a grand total of $1779 plus mixed drinks.
Bottom line: spend $2000 get treated like dirt and they don't care what you think.

  • Liked — I did not die.
  • Disliked — Everything, especially the staff, mostly Sherri Irvin.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdubdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepAhead20, Owner at Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, 18 June 2008
I would appreciate this individual contacting the owners at the hotel to further discuss this situation. It's unfortunate that the sales individual presented herself in the manner that she did, which left the guests to fill as there was no other alternative for them to resolve this dispute. This issue has been addressed and resolved. Please contact the hotel and ask to speak with an owner, if they are not available, please leave a message, and indicate that it is a result of a tripadvisor post, and you have been requested to contact the owner. Thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    84
    79
    40
    36
See reviews for
44
121
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joliet Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2008

Came through on a trip back from Georgia and stayed over night. The decor was wonderful and very intertaining. We had a whirlpool suite and the room decor was great. Very spacious two room suite which made you feel like you where at home.

The diner reminder you of the old malt shop and brought back many good memories. The food was outstanding and VERY affordable. Would very much stay again when passing through.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank amg0255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahomet, IL
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2008

I've had the pleasure of staying overnight at Route 66 off and on for several years now while working in Springfield. I must say, the experience has been wonderful. The staff have gone out of their way to make sure our needs were addressed. When I had extra staff come down at the last minute, they made room for all of us. When we had smoke allergies, we were kept far away from the smoking rooms.

The food was delicious. I didn't need to leave the hotel. Thanks to all the staff who work hard at Route 66. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pickles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2008

I stayed at The Route 66 Hotel for a wedding & had the most amazing time. This is definitely the best hotel that Springfield has to offer & the Route 66 memorabilia is 2nd to none. The pool was amazing & the food was great!!!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dirtyd333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2008

We heard about the Route 66 through a friend. We booked the reservations for a fun weekend away. Although it is an old hotel, it has great charm and it is obvious that time has been taken to add detail to the overall theme of the hotel. We enjoyed looking at the memorbilia throughout the lobby and hallways. Our room was clean and we were pleased with the friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2008

I could not be pleased more with my stay at RT 66 hotel and convention center. My room was clean and the service was great. The food was superb as well the banquet facilities were comfortable and perfect for our meetings we held there. It's a slice of Americana, when Americana is disappearing...

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — bathroom was a little small
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chizuhito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Stayed here for a wedding reception. This is a unique hotel which contains lots of memorabilia! The pool was very enjoyable and the conference center where the reception was held was beautifully decorated. The food was very good and I had no problems with requesting extra towels & pillows as the staff was responsive to my needs. If you are interested in visiting a place which truly has some history throughout the hallways you should stay here.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 38 in Springfield
175 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 38 in Springfield
123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
4.0 mi away
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
#12 of 38 in Springfield
215 reviews
3.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#13 of 38 in Springfield
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 625 E Saint Joseph St, (6th & Stevenson Dr.), Springfield, IL 62703-4713
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Route 66 Hotel And Springfield
Route 66 Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing