We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok for one night”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Went to a Toby Keith concert at Springfield Fair Grounds and stayed at this hotel. The Hotel Lobby was pretty cool. The Rooms were nothing special. Beds were not that comfy. Seemed kind of old. The hotel at one time seemed to be a motel and they enclosed it to make it a hotel and did not do very many changes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    80
    79
    40
    35
See reviews for
43
118
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

The price was right for a one night stay while traveling. The rooms were of average size. The beds and bathroom were clean, but the rooms smelled badly of smoke and the carpet needed cleaning. I agree with the other reviews about the doors being paper thin, but the hallway was quiet at night so I wasn't bothered by it. The decor in the lobby and hallways was fun and nostalgic. The restaurant was a typical diner, and our breakfast there was fast, cheap and plentiful. All in all, it was the right price for a one-night place to crash, but look elsewhere for a vacation spot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was our first overnight stop on Route 66. This is an old traditional motel which is a recommended motel on the Route 66 guide books. There are memorabilia and the opportunity to talk to other travellers. The outdoor pool is useful for cooling down. The rooms are more comfortable than we had anticipated. Springfield has excellent Lincoln museums and the motel is close to the Cozy Dog restaurant which is an essential must visit. We enjoyed Springfield and the Route 66 Motel proved to be an inexpensive, comfortable base.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent one night here as our first stop after Chicago while travelling Route 66. There's a huge amount of memorabilia on display, making it great fun if you're actually travelling the road. It's also a regular stop for others on the route, so it's great for meeting others on the road.

The room itself was basic but clean, albeit a tad musty. The themed decor continues inside the room as well, with Route 66 signs adding to the fun.

The only problem we had was with the wifi, which couldn't cope with the large Harley tour group that arrived at the same time as us. I assume it was just a bandwidth issue as it was fine when we tried again in the morning.

I probably wouldn't stay here if I was just looking for a general place to stay in Springfield, but if you're doing Route 66, it's a must-stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Have tried this hotel a couple of times since others have told me they have gotten ok rooms, but my three different rooms so far have been terrible. Asking the reception does not help, does not seem like they know better..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bztraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Lots of Route 66 memorabilia on display. Rates reasonable. Lots of travelers to talk with.

Room experience wasn't the greatest. AC wasn't turned on and room was extremely hot. Cranked the temps down but room never really recovered. Front desk manager never followed up.

Other than being a Route 66 stop, I wouldn't have stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planoTXvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We checked in here after being let down by another nearby hotel. The receptionist was very welcoming, but check inn did take a long time. The hotel had loads of interesting Route 66 memorabilia. The big minus for me was that the room smelled. The room itself was fine, but because there is no outside ventilation (no external windows or doors) then ventilating the rooms must be difficult. That said, the room had everything we needed and we slept well, the best test. If I was staying longer I would have come prepared with a room spray, every problem has a solution. The hotel had all necessary amenities, including a coin laundry.

I think in writing this review I see how completely differently people can see the same thing. I travel a lot and I thought that this place was fine, but my OH doesn't travel and hated it - so our reviews would have been polar opposites.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopaholic888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 38 in Springfield
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
4.0 mi away
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
#13 of 38 in Springfield
211 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 38 in Springfield
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 625 E Saint Joseph St, (6th & Stevenson Dr.), Springfield, IL 62703-4713
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Route 66 Hotel And Springfield
Route 66 Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing