We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but smelly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night during our stay in Springfield.

Pros:
- The staff. They let us check-in two hours earlier than normally allowed.
-Free parking and free WiFi.
-The rooms are spacious.
-The price.
-Clean.
-Flatscreen TV.
-The bathroom looks kinda new.

Cons:
-The room smells.


Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank LindamariH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place feels more like a museum than a motel when you walk in. Even the outside is made to look like an old service station. The staff was friendly and helped us get a room on short notice, but the rooms weren't anything special. Our nonsmoking room had a strong lingering smell of cigarettes, but the bed and bathroom were fine, and that's all we really needed. The most unfortunate thing for us was the lack of food options around on a Sunday. Slim pickings. Otherwise, if you're looking for a Route 66-esque motel with not a lot much more to offer, this is your place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanSG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was really looking forward to staying here on our Route 66 trip, and was really disappointed. Firstly as we pulled in you can see the pool, which looked like it had seen better days and was full of rubbish floating in it. My first thought was eurgh, guess I won't be swimming! The entrance had the old style gas pumps which was cool. Check in was quick, and pleasant, not overly friendly but it's the first hotel we'd stayed in 3 weeks that asked for id off both occupants not just the person checking in. The memoribilia in the main part of the hotel is cool. However the room was OK. The beds were clean and comfy, but they had horrible itchy blankets on them. The room looked like it needed updating, there was wallpaper peeling and electrics coming off the wall. Then we went in the bathroom. It looked clean and nice, but there was a plunger next to the loo. I wondered why and first use of the toilet I found out why! It blocked with very little toilet paper. For the rest of the evening I was using the toilets in the general part of the hotel. Fast forward to next morning and hubby went to loo, flushed before using loo paper and yep, toilet blocked. It's really no fun when you are literally showering next to excrement! I understand toilets can get blacked but they obvisouly know because of the plunger next to the loo, which means they shouldn't have rented that room out. The hotel also has 'laundry facilities' which consists of 1 washing machine and 1 dryer. They are so old they over an hour each, after 90 mins in dryer clothes were still damp we ended up bringing them back to the room to dry.
If your doing Route 66, it's worth popping in here to have a look, but I certainly wouldn't recommend staying unless they sort the plumbing out, and/or a huge refurb.

Room Tip: Don't get room 122, it has a blocked toilet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manchesterLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We pulled up and asked if they had a room, they originally offered us a room with 2 single beds but as we were there as c couple she managed to get a room with 2 queen beds for $76ish a night.

The room was 121 when we walked in it immediately smelt of stale smoke even though we were told this was a none smoking room, It took me a couple of mins to deiced if we would stay or not. The room also had one glass wall that was opposite the corridor, this seemed really strange, there was a big curtain covering it when we opened it we could see the hallway and into the carpark.

We deiced to stay after i check the beds and they had clean sheets on them and the bathroom seemed reasonably clean. The toilet however was wonky and wobbled when you sat down on it.
The room was cold so we turned on the heater - THIS IS WHERE THE HORRIBLE SMELL WAS COMING FROM. I turned it off really quickly!! Id rather freeze then have dirty air pumped into the room. In the end we took the portable heater from the hallway and brought it into the room, this worked a treat a smell free warm room. Baring in mind it was -3c outside with one big glass wall it was rather chilly.

Because the rooms have no outside window, I guess this is were some of the problem lies. They can not get any fresh air into the room.

I don't think id stay here again, it was pretty poor but the location served us well for one night.

We did eat at the restaurant in the hotel, this was the best thing about our stay. The waitress was helpful and we had a nice affordable meal.

Room Tip: Don't Turn on the heater - horrible smell Cold room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plasmasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Room was clean and ordinary but was right across from the nightclub and it got loud and rowdy until the early hours of the next morning. There was a cafe in the hotel that served good, reasonable priced food, that was a plus.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Yes, when you see the great sign about the Route 66 theme, it seems like the perfect place to stay. When we entered the lobby and saw all the memorabilia, we thought that we really picked a great place. That's where it ended. We were taken to the older section...now, if you want to go to a place that is vintage from the old Route 66 days, then perfect. What it looked like to me: the kind of room that you would get if you grabbed a room at a seedy motel along the road. Reeked if stale cigarettes. Old, old, old...not retro. People walking outside the room, and the nasty curtains in the window. Old carpeting. What did we do, turned around, walked to the front desk, and demanded a refund. Never, ever again. Don't buy into the hype of the memorabilia.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelRomance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

One of the worst places I have ever stayed. Front desk staff is confused and ineffective. Rooms are old, bedding is as cheap as you can get and call it bedding. Walls are paper thin and even normal volume conversations next door are as loud as if you were in the same room.

Maid service 'forgot' my room on day one, and showed up at 8 AM on day two, disregarding the 'do not disturb' sign.

The shower temps are random, and the curtain doesn't go low enough to keep the floor from flooding.

The place is inexpensive, but that is ALL it has going for it.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyStark12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
3.1 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Springfield, IL
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#25 of 38 in Springfield
127 reviews
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#13 of 38 in Springfield
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center

Address: 625 E Saint Joseph St, (6th & Stevenson Dr.), Springfield, IL 62703-4713
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range: £46 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Route 66 Hotel And Springfield
Route 66 Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing