We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just so so.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just so so.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

First place we stayed on our route 66 trip. Lobby is fun and worth a stop. As far as the rooms they smell really really bad. It is an old holiday inn so it still smells like smoke and mold. Also very noisy they put us on the pool side. The door had a gap and we were up half of the night. Bar was nice, staff was nice. With a little effort, some paint and new carpet, this place would not be bad. Not recommended until they clean up their act.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    75
    78
    40
    35
See reviews for
42
116
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

very nice route 66 motel it has old cars inside and loads of old route 66 stuff. a little gift shop selling route 66 stuff. the rooms were great just like back in the day. went to a drive in movie just down the road.
It all so has a route 66 dinner in side as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our stay at this hotel was very comfortable. The only thing wrong was a flooded hallway bathroom that the staff took care of right away. Wasn't an inconvenience at all toward to us. Room was comfortable and quiet. Loved the memorabilia that lines the hallways.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clr0597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitelaw, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is something to see. It was clean and roomy, they have a restaurant and bar there to make it convenient, food was alright. The check-in people didn't know a lot of what was going on in the area. Bruce was very helpful with different restaurant ideas. Location worked for us. I guess if your going to travel part of Route 66 this would be someplace that you would like to see.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondieLMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This classic 1960s Holiday Inn was the first on Route 66 and has been on this location since, though there has been an addition that is in the style. the only major change from the original design is the original outside entrances to each room are now within an enclosed walkway which is a plus. It has been carefully cared for and is full of fun things to look at of the prime time of the route including old cars and toys. Yesterday's Restaurant on the premises is appropriately decorated and has food suitable for the theme. Our room had no negative smell as mentioned by others. Staff was very accommodating.

Room Tip: IIf you want to be in a room from the original Holiday Inn, ask for one in the north wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseS349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was the first Holiday Inn on Route 66. You can smell the cigarettes of all those visitors in the hallways. I must have been in one of the just ok rooms... no flat screen for me and no remote control. The place is decorated with stuff, Route 66 memorabilia. It will work for the two nights here... but they need to update the rooms with modern plugs for electrical devices and hide the four old mattresses at the end of the hallway. That does not bode well for those who plan to stay. The place looks tired and all the license plates on the walls will not deflect from that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglophile0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oelwein, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This place truly makes you feel like you've returned to the Route 66 motels of the 1960's and early 1970's. The motel itself has been enclosed to protect you from the outside elements. Our room was clean and fresh. Loved the shower in the bathroom. The bed provided a large set of pillows that made my night very relaxing and comfortable. I haven't smoked for years and wasn't able to detect any smell of smoke, as so many others claim. Thank you for preserving this piece of Route 66 history.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lapa110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#8 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
5.9 mi away
Northfield Inn, Suites & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
3.1 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 625 East St. Joseph Street, (6th & Stevenson Dr.), Springfield, IL 62703
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Route 66 Hotel And Springfield
Route 66 Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing