We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
191 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed two nights at the State House Inn as we wanted to tour Springfield. The location of the hotel could not be better if you want to visit the Capitol. The Lincoln Library and old state capitol are within a very easy drive. The hotel itself apparently had financial troubles a number of years ago and was renovated. There are both good and poor things to mention. Upon arrival the outside of the building is rather plain but OK. Check-in was fine. We proceeded to our rooms down a long and quite cold hallway as the air conditioning was turned on full cold. We had a mini suite so, upon entering, we went down a short hallway into the living room. It had a small fridge and microwave that were fine. The TV set was an older one with a less-than-sharp picture and watching the hockey game in the evening would have been better with a sharper picture. There was a futon that was very low and not at all comfortable. There were also comfortable lounge chairs, one each in living room and bedroom. There was fast wired and wireless internet service. The door to the bathroom was a heavy metal sliding door (not a pocket door) which was quite unusual as it totally covered the alcove that served as a closet when the door was open. If someone was hanging up clothes when the door was opened, you can guess that it was not an enjoyable experience. And, it did happen. The bedroom was large but the bed was not very comfortable. As another reviewer noted, the "pillow top" mattress is set down into a wooden frame and the sheet did not fit correctly. I tossed and turned and wrestled the sheet all night. The second night was not so bad as we firmly tucked the sheet in before trying to use the bed. The room decor was probably done to replicate a 60's look, and it did but not in a great way. It just looked pretty dated. Also, we noticed dust in the lamps and the outside windows, which were large, needed washing badly. There were a couple of small tile pieces missing in the bathroom. The breakfast was fine and very well attended, actually the very best attention that we have ever experienced. A plus for that! In all, the hotel is OK but needs some attention. Small details seem to be magnified when there are many of them that are not quite what you would expect from a fine hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarAndWide_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    369
    114
    35
    16
See reviews for
225
339
62
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Godfrey, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Best location if you need access to the capitol. And walking distance (several blocks) from restaurants. The room was clean and the breakfast satisfactory. (Dismayed, though, to see someone adding 5 slices of bacon to his belgian waffle... I'm a vegetarian.) Nice little suite with mini-fridge and sink. The "couch" was a VERY LOW futon which made standing up from it a bit of a challenge - and probably near impossible for some older folks.

But The Sheets! They were a trial all night long. If you like sleeping on bunched up sheets, you'd be okay. The sheets would NOT stay put. Due to the design of the bed frame, it was impossible to get the sheets fitted around the mattress. This was a definite downer and made for a restless night. The bare mattress was exposed by the time I got up in the morning. Ug!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne62035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

This property is outstanding and as good or better as some high priced boutique hotels I've stayed in! The lobby was spacious and charming with its 60's decor. The lady at the front desk that checked us in could not have been nicer or more efficient during check in.
A request for extra pillows was promptly filled. The room was absolutely silent except for the occasional train going by, which I thought was very soothing.
Bathroom was beautiful and I love that you could be using the shower and mirror without disturbing anyone trying to sleep. Breakfast was above and beyond the regular Choice properties offering. Even real plates and silverware. I can't say enough good things about this place. This is among the top 5 properties we have stayed in so far in the US.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Best night's sleep I have had in a hotel ever. Staff friendly and room nice. Large and updated. Definitely would come back. Parking was a little difficult since there was a large wedding reception but was able to find a spot after a couple hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentR53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Really could not decide if I wanted to rate 3 or 4. I believe the hotel is in the process of being renovated and certain areas truly need it. However, our bathroom was beautiful...the breakfast was extremely substantial. The room itself was strange. Mattresses were comfortable...but the bedding kept coming off and the "pad" underneath the sheet was scrunched up. The furniture was really modern and looked very cheap. The elevators.....very shabby looking...I know they take a beating, but perhaps another material could be used on the elevator walls. It makes you think the room you are getting will be truly shabby and that is not the case. All the employees were very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The staff was friendly and the breakfasts were good. You serve yourself buffet style and you may have a little wait to get waffle. Food was good and the selection was good. We had 3 or 4 in a room for a couple nights. The double-bed room was a little cramped and our room did not have a fridge or microwave, Coffee is Seattle's Best. Pillow were small but fluffy and the beds were pretty comfortable but not great. Exercise room was fairly large with a mix of cardio, dumb bells, and weight machines.

We were just there visiting so no sightseeing but this is clearly the land of Lincoln so if historical sightseeing is your thing, lots to choose from, other than that I didn't see a lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mames38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golconda, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was my third stay over a couple years. Very uh close to historic sites, good breakfast and part of the Choice Hotels network. Well worth your reward points. Double bed rooms are cramped. King size bed rooms have adequate space. Suites are great. Would definitely book again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#11 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
5.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing