We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
CINCINNATI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel had a old feel at first, rooms are nice, the beds were kind of low, might be kind of hard for older couple to get up or down. Also furniture in lobby was low, retro décor, for some reason the hallways were extra hot, but every building I went in Springfield was like that. Bathrooms were nice with bathrobes, rooms did not have fridge or microwave, but there is one you can use in the lobby snack shop. Older tv, but works fine and jacks in front. Breakfast was good, they had eggs, bacon, waffles, fruit, cereal, etc. Enough stuff was on the breakfast bar, so we didn't have to go out. The location was great, close to everything. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLERK34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    368
    114
    35
    16
See reviews for
223
338
62
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Checked in late and tired to a very welcoming receptionist who got us to our room quickly and sorted us with directions to a good steak restaurant.

The room was a good size with quiet a/c, bathrobes and water in the room, walking distance to everywhere with the Lincoln Museum not far away and worth a visit for sure, the free parking was nice to have on site as was the complimentary hot buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayoKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We went to tour the Lincoln Museum with our kids and grandkids and picked The State House Inn to over night. It is really a neat place. Cute retro look. We arrived several hours before check in, but they gave us our rooms right away. Had the two room suite, with a king sized bed. Sitting room with mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot, desk, wifi. Tv's in both rooms. The bathroom toiletries were from Bath and Body, which I like. Liked the idea that there was a thermostat in both rooms. Had a drink in the bar, which is decorated retro. Soft drinks are free, which is highly unusual. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. You name it, they had it. The ladies working the breakfast were very efficient. I recommend this place and we are going back and staying there again. Almost forgot, the bed was very comfy and I liked the sheets, but the pillows were very little.

Room Tip: Get the two room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janesookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We arrived during the Route 66 annual festival in Springfield (fantastic event) and also whilst a very noisy wedding reception was on at the hotel spilling out into reception so first impression was one of concern! Parking was only available in their alternative lot across the road but no problems accessing it. However check-in was smooth and the receptionist explained all the facilities. Walking into the room (King Suite) was like stepping back in time to a 1960's show home with the furniture and decor of that period, but it was clean and quiet. The bed looked strange and lumpy but to quote my wife in the morning "it was like sleeping in custard" as it was soft and deep. Breakfast was surprisingly good with various choices of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, juices etc. Tables were cleared and cleaned as soon as they were left. Overall a surprisingly good stay plus it was in easy walking distance of all the main downtown attractions. Only negative point was that the a/c was loud and either off or on, there was no fan speed control.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneyfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived from st. Louis via Amtrak. Walked with luggage just 2 blocks to the Inn. Lobby was clean and inviting. desk people were knowledgeable about tourist sites we wanted to see and how to get to each site via the city tourist bus service. Rooms were very nice and clean.
the free breakfast was outstanding, eggs, bacon waffles fruit etc. We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garypjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
191 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed two nights at the State House Inn as we wanted to tour Springfield. The location of the hotel could not be better if you want to visit the Capitol. The Lincoln Library and old state capitol are within a very easy drive. The hotel itself apparently had financial troubles a number of years ago and was renovated. There are both good and poor things to mention. Upon arrival the outside of the building is rather plain but OK. Check-in was fine. We proceeded to our rooms down a long and quite cold hallway as the air conditioning was turned on full cold. We had a mini suite so, upon entering, we went down a short hallway into the living room. It had a small fridge and microwave that were fine. The TV set was an older one with a less-than-sharp picture and watching the hockey game in the evening would have been better with a sharper picture. There was a futon that was very low and not at all comfortable. There were also comfortable lounge chairs, one each in living room and bedroom. There was fast wired and wireless internet service. The door to the bathroom was a heavy metal sliding door (not a pocket door) which was quite unusual as it totally covered the alcove that served as a closet when the door was open. If someone was hanging up clothes when the door was opened, you can guess that it was not an enjoyable experience. And, it did happen. The bedroom was large but the bed was not very comfortable. As another reviewer noted, the "pillow top" mattress is set down into a wooden frame and the sheet did not fit correctly. I tossed and turned and wrestled the sheet all night. The second night was not so bad as we firmly tucked the sheet in before trying to use the bed. The room decor was probably done to replicate a 60's look, and it did but not in a great way. It just looked pretty dated. Also, we noticed dust in the lamps and the outside windows, which were large, needed washing badly. There were a couple of small tile pieces missing in the bathroom. The breakfast was fine and very well attended, actually the very best attention that we have ever experienced. A plus for that! In all, the hotel is OK but needs some attention. Small details seem to be magnified when there are many of them that are not quite what you would expect from a fine hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarAndWide_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godfrey, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Best location if you need access to the capitol. And walking distance (several blocks) from restaurants. The room was clean and the breakfast satisfactory. (Dismayed, though, to see someone adding 5 slices of bacon to his belgian waffle... I'm a vegetarian.) Nice little suite with mini-fridge and sink. The "couch" was a VERY LOW futon which made standing up from it a bit of a challenge - and probably near impossible for some older folks.

But The Sheets! They were a trial all night long. If you like sleeping on bunched up sheets, you'd be okay. The sheets would NOT stay put. Due to the design of the bed frame, it was impossible to get the sheets fitted around the mattress. This was a definite downer and made for a restless night. The bare mattress was exposed by the time I got up in the morning. Ug!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne62035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#12 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing