We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend break”
Review of The State House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The State House
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. We booked a travelzoo package which included Lincoln museum passes. Hotel is centrally located and we could have easily walked to the museum and local restaurants and bars but we drove due to cold windy day. The hotel staff graciously allowed us to check in early on Saturday afternoon and a late check out on Sunday. Hotel decor made me feel like I was on the set of mad men, minus the cigarette smoke. We had a king size bed suite, very comfortable and fit our needs perfectly. Appreciated the fridge to keep our drinks cold. The only suggestion I have is to upgrade to flat screen tvs. However, the older tvs were fine and had no negative impact on our stay. I will certainly consider the state house for my next visit to Springfield.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank eliza124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

State house had a great offer for lodging, tickets to the Lincoln Museum, $25.00 towards food, and 2 free drinks. The hotel is a bit old but comfortable. The breakfast was included and it was very plentiful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

One night stay in king suite. Large living room. Couch was more like futon than regular foldout. A little weird for sleeping as it was in middle of room. Breakfast, free parking and easy walk to Lincoln Home Historical Site and Statehouse. BTW, the chambers in the Statehouse are beautiful. Would stay at the State House Inn again.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel had a old feel at first, rooms are nice, the beds were kind of low, might be kind of hard for older couple to get up or down. Also furniture in lobby was low, retro décor, for some reason the hallways were extra hot, but every building I went in Springfield was like that. Bathrooms were nice with bathrobes, rooms did not have fridge or microwave, but there is one you can use in the lobby snack shop. Older tv, but works fine and jacks in front. Breakfast was good, they had eggs, bacon, waffles, fruit, cereal, etc. Enough stuff was on the breakfast bar, so we didn't have to go out. The location was great, close to everything. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLERK34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Checked in late and tired to a very welcoming receptionist who got us to our room quickly and sorted us with directions to a good steak restaurant.

The room was a good size with quiet a/c, bathrobes and water in the room, walking distance to everywhere with the Lincoln Museum not far away and worth a visit for sure, the free parking was nice to have on site as was the complimentary hot buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MayoKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We went to tour the Lincoln Museum with our kids and grandkids and picked The State House Inn to over night. It is really a neat place. Cute retro look. We arrived several hours before check in, but they gave us our rooms right away. Had the two room suite, with a king sized bed. Sitting room with mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot, desk, wifi. Tv's in both rooms. The bathroom toiletries were from Bath and Body, which I like. Liked the idea that there was a thermostat in both rooms. Had a drink in the bar, which is decorated retro. Soft drinks are free, which is highly unusual. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. You name it, they had it. The ladies working the breakfast were very efficient. I recommend this place and we are going back and staying there again. Almost forgot, the bed was very comfy and I liked the sheets, but the pillows were very little.

Room Tip: Get the two room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janesookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We arrived during the Route 66 annual festival in Springfield (fantastic event) and also whilst a very noisy wedding reception was on at the hotel spilling out into reception so first impression was one of concern! Parking was only available in their alternative lot across the road but no problems accessing it. However check-in was smooth and the receptionist explained all the facilities. Walking into the room (King Suite) was like stepping back in time to a 1960's show home with the furniture and decor of that period, but it was clean and quiet. The bed looked strange and lumpy but to quote my wife in the morning "it was like sleeping in custard" as it was soft and deep. Breakfast was surprisingly good with various choices of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, juices etc. Tables were cleared and cleaned as soon as they were left. Overall a surprisingly good stay plus it was in easy walking distance of all the main downtown attractions. Only negative point was that the a/c was loud and either off or on, there was no fan speed control.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moneyfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Springfield, IL
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#16 of 38 in Springfield
249 reviews
5.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House

Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108 (Formerly The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £78 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House has newly renovated rooms, offers Free WiFi, and is pet friendly. This hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Centrally located within the city limits of Springfield, within walking distance to great restaurants and historical site attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The State House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing