We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
State House Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield(Springfield)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveller rating
408
393
126
38
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
393
126
38
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln museummid centuryretro decorwaffleswithin walking distancemad mensausagepotatoesking suitedowntown springfieldamtrak stationcapital buildingseparate bedroomfree hot breakfasthotel barbusiness centerhistoric sites
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 982 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The good:
This hotel was more than acceptable for the price I paid. Free parking and a full breakfast bar are major perks. The room was clean (mostly), the location is perfect for anything you want to do in Springfield. With one exception, the service was excellent. The front desk employees were very helpful and the breakfast employees did an amazing job. As long as you have realistic expectations for the price you are paying, you won't be disappointed here. We had a king suite that was spacious.

The bad:
What is up with the hallway saunas? It is so hot in the hall. There was a stain on the shower curtain that looked like blood, and the bathroom light fixtures were filthy. The sheets will not stay on the bed, this needs fixed. My boyfriend felt that the bed was uncomfortable but it didn't bother me. I also think it's time to upgrade the TVs. We visited the bar on our first night and the bartender was downright rude, refusing to serve us at a table and telling us we had to come to the bar to be served. We didn't go back.

Overall, I would return because I feel that I got a good value for my money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We recently set up a block of rooms and special rate at the Statehouse for our wedding. Kara Thomas was very very helpful in facilitating this. Every member of our family was very pleased with the accomodations. The rooms have a very distinct modern 80's type style which was very different and interesting. The staff was very courteous especially given our family of partiers, and the accomodations were very neat and clean. We already plan on visiting for our anniversary next year, and in general we had a great stay at the Statehouse.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at State House Inn. The hotel was built in 1961 and has been decorated with mid-century furnishings. The room sofa and chairs were low to the ground and might be a problem for someone with mobility issues, but we thought they were fun. Our suite was spacious. The king bed was comfortable. Front desk staff were helpful. The breakfast was generous and the woman who oversees the breakfast room was friendly and kept the tables and buffet spotless.

Room Tip: Saw reviews of regular rooms that indicated they are small. Our suite did not cost that much more and was very spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiniGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

From the outside, the hotel looks more like an office building than a hotel, but once inside you'll be pleased. The lobby is clean, bright and uncluttered and Kelly who welcomed us at the front desk was first rate. After check in, we asked about close, casual dining restaurants and she gave us two recommendations within easy walking distance.

The room was just a bit small, considering it had a king size bed, but was otherwise very comfortable, clean, and quiet. Plenty of towels were provided along with quality amenities including two bathrobes.

We chose this hotel partially because of it's close proximity to the historic downtown area. Located just a block north of the Capitol, the Lincoln Presidential Museum and other sites are all within easy walking distance. Local quality restaurants are plentiful. We'd stay here again and I recommended the hotel to a friend who is planning a future Springfield trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. We booked a travelzoo package which included Lincoln museum passes. Hotel is centrally located and we could have easily walked to the museum and local restaurants and bars but we drove due to cold windy day. The hotel staff graciously allowed us to check in early on Saturday afternoon and a late check out on Sunday. Hotel decor made me feel like I was on the set of mad men, minus the cigarette smoke. We had a king size bed suite, very comfortable and fit our needs perfectly. Appreciated the fridge to keep our drinks cold. The only suggestion I have is to upgrade to flat screen tvs. However, the older tvs were fine and had no negative impact on our stay. I will certainly consider the state house for my next visit to Springfield.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank eliza124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews