We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Rye, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean and good value”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A basic hotel, rooms on the small size and a little tired, but clean and functional.
TV in room was pretty old and had no remote. Shower had major issues with temperature and pressure fluctuations.
Breakfast plentiful and tasty, includes cooked in the room rate.
Best downtown location.
Easy walk to Lincoln House and state government.
Not the best for families due to room sizes.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    379
    119
    36
    16
See reviews for
230
347
63
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Front staff was very helpful. Took me longer to unload the car then to check in. That was a breeze. My room was ready even though I was there 3 hours early. Everything was in walking distance that I planned to see downtown regarding Abe Lincoln.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiscBillsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I would have given a very good rating except for the front desk staff. And, unfortunately, that is who you deal with/see the most. There was a mix up with my reservations (not the hotels fault) and the woman at the front desk was not only less than helpful, but she had a baby (hers?) behind the counter that she was trying to take care of while also assisting customers?!?

The rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable. The rooms with 2 beds are full size, not queen to which I am accustomed, so that was a little bit of a shock. I'm sure they probably said such, but I didn't "hear" it!

The hot breakfast was very good! Bacon, sausage, eggs, biscuits, gravy and waffles. There was also a great selection of other items, yogurt, cereal, bread/bagels and pastries. And, of course, juice, milk and coffee/tea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superdduper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the Lincoln home historic area and is two blocks from the capital building. You get a great view of the capital from the lobby. The double room was very limited on space, but since we only slept here instead of spending any other time in the room, it worked out great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Endurodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is two blocks SW from the Amtrak Station, five blocks from the Abraham Lincoln Museum, and two blocks from the Capitol. They feature a full breakfast buffet and friendly staff. After trying others, I'm sold on this one. This is a modern seven story building which first appears more like an office building. My only quibble was that the shower water took a long time to warm up. Highly recommended for their low prices as well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank GordonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A great place to stay. We loved the retro style. Service was wonderful. Good prices at the " No Name Bar". Yummy breakfast buffet, especially waffles with strawberries and whipped cream! Free parking in downtown Springfield. Clean and convenient. Comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VKG315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This Inn needs some upgrading, flatscreen tv would have been a welcome change, 2 sets of towel bars instead of towel hooks, replace pic in bathroom with a towel bar, shower head was way too high, needs fridge/microwave, the mattress needed replacing, but it was not terrible. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good but a pitcher of milk rather than a small carton would have sufficed. Too much milk in the carton for one bowl of cereal. Inn was within walking distance of sites to see. Would recommend Obed and Isaac's brewery for a great meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#12 of 38 in Springfield
239 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing