We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a special .State House Inn is very clean, plenty of towels and even terry bath robes which is rare for just the average hotel. The hot breakfast was superb . I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BayaSpice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
There are newer reviews for The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good location within walking distance of most downtown attractions. The king suite was huge. Furnishings are more stylish than comfortable, unfortunately. We are not big TV watchers, but TV reception was terrible in both rooms of the suite. Where this hotel shines, though, is the staff: absolutely wonderful people all around -- front desk, breakfast room, housekeeping, bartenders. Temperature controls in each room were a little tricky to get right.

Room Tip: West side rooms overlook parking lots; east side rooms should have city views
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ATSF616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We decided to do a weekend trip to Springfield and booked this hotel. We had a one bedroom suite. It was very comfortable, clean and plenty of room for us. The room was decorated in the spirit of the general hotel design with modern style furniture. Check-in was nice and easy and the woman at the front desk was very helpful in answering our questions.


We were here to see the Lincoln Museum and other tourist sights. It was within easy walking distance of the museum. The Saturday farmers market is practically right out the door.

A hot breakfast was included, The room came with robes to relax in. Wi-fi was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben60025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our family stayed at this hotel for my brother's wedding. It is tastefully decorated in the retro 60's theme. The pictures on the website certainly don't do it any justice. The hotel was clean, well kept, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms are large with comfortable beds and there's even 2 bathrobes to use. I love their towels and linen (to me, the mark of a great hotel is luxurious linens and towels!) The free hot breakfast was ample (eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fruit, assorted yogurts, waffles, assorted pastries, juices, teas, and coffees. If you're in Springfield to soak up Lincoln history, the hotel is within walking distance of the Lincoln museum and other historical sights. There's lots to do and see in quaint downtown Springfield. Restaurants and shops abound. This is the best place to stay in Springfield!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JaxAces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay here. It is in a great location: lots of parking and within walking distance to Lincoln sites. Staff at check-in were very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and spacious. Beds were VERY comfortable. Breakfast was probably the nicest continental breakfast I've ever seen at a hotel. Excellent wifi too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cneiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Statehouse Inn is the best place to stay when you are in Springfield , IL. There is a free breakfast buffet very morning . The breakfast manager Latonia and her morning wake up crew is very professional and friendly .They do an excellent job of cooking , serving and cleaning. They make the breakfast experience a great way to start the day. The front desk staff takes care of all your daily needs . They answer all your questions and attend to your requests in a timely manner . They are very helpful . Tessa is an excellent team member of the housekeeping staff . She made our room a very enjoyable and pleasant place to stay . She cleaned our room in a very professional and timely manner .. Tessa treated us with kindness and respect . She is very polite with manners. I recommend Latonia for breakfast manager of the year and Tessa for housekeeping employee of the year . Please consider giving them an immediate bonus , raise and promotion. The Statehouse Inn is the best place to experience a home away from home. If you are looking for the best place to stay during your tourist vacation trip , the Statehouse Inn is it !

Room Tip: Suite room 500 is the best place to stay . Its right near the elevator . When you open the shades...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HoopDreams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here one night on July 23. I almost didn't book it because the pictures make it look very dated. I am glad I changed my mind. While it has a 60's motif, this hotel is great. The rooms are actually very large, modern and beautiful. The beds are so comfy. The staff is so helpful. The breakfast was wonderful. And it is within walking distance to most of the major attractions. We got a great package deal that included two tickets to the Lincoln museam and a dinner voucher which made this hotel a real bargain. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KentuckyLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#15 of 38 in Springfield
246 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 38 in Springfield
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £82 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing