We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stay here often” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stay here often”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel many times on our way to or from WI. It is one block from the capital building. It is always neat and clean, as it was again last night. The hotel is decorated with furniture much like the 50s, but very tastefully done. The rooms we have had are quite small but fine for the two of us. We always have a wonderful nights sleep and a nice hot breakfast buffet included in the morning. The comfy terry robes hung in the lovely bath rooms is a real treat. t

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Retired-fun-travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    367
    114
    35
    16
See reviews for
223
336
62
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Before booking my room at the State House Inn I read many of the reviews here on tripadvisor. I tended to read of some negatives. Let me assure readers that any negatives about this hotel are minimal. In my opinion the rooms are spacious enough and very well maintained. The staff is professional. As for the retro design, I loved it!!! The only negative was that the corridors of the hotel were a bit on the frigid side. But really, not a big deal since one does not spend too much of their time in the corridors. As for rooms themselves, the temperature was perfect. Yes, you will hear train whistles at night. But I'm fairly certain that anywhere in downtown Springfield, you will hear them. An added positive for the small area by the lobby where one can purchase some snacks. I wish every hotel I stayed at had this convenience. Overall, a very recommended hotel to book a stay when in Springfield!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Receptionist Ms. K. Jones very professional and friendly. Breakfast was great with Yolanda hard worker and great person. I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and has made reservations for at least 3 visits in 2015.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phmasonb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

You'd think if you booked one of the most expensive rooms in this hotel ( the king suite), you'd be assured of hot water, no? NO. In the middle of my shower in the morning the water suddenly turned icy cold. And it was not just a "morning event" that happened when many showers were on. I also couldn't get warm water the previous afternoon, either.

When I mentioned to the manager that the water problem was unacceptable and that I thought I should be somehow compensated for the inconvenience, she was at first dismissive, then completely unapologetic, then downright rude. ( This was the female daytime manager). Another employee asked her what was going on and she told him "the water". Then she turned to me and told me that this was what to expect in this hotel. I should have turned on all of the faucets in the room for ten minutes before I showered if I wanted hot water! She finally reduced my bill $10. For $386.00 I got one warm shower in 3 days. I expect more, and you should, too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I just wanted to finish an assignment and go to sleep. I asked for a room not on the train tracks side but was placed on that side anyway. By 10:30 pm, the train whistles sounded like shrill screams. I went to the lobby and asked to be moved to a quieter room. A desk clerk promptly moved me to a room next to some young intoxicated men who had just checked in. They were still in the lobby, yelling drunkenly that the hotel bar was still open. The young men spent the whole night yelling and banging on each others doors. I kept hoping they'd pass out at some point. But at 4:30 am i had to call the front desk and report the noise. A manager came up, saw the french fries strewn in the hallway and knocked on their door. He timidly said that "some guests thought they were too loud", and the crazed youngster at the door stared at me. So now, on top of the ongoing noise (they kept it up), I had to worry that the brats might retaliate for my complaint. I thought I could at least sleep in late but by 8:30 am, housekeeping started going down the hall knocking on everyone's doors. No chance to get enough sleep, so i got up for breakfast and left. I was a zombie the next day and had to drive back to Chicago. Ive had better nights in youth hostels.

Room Tip: Away from train tracks and drunk college kids/
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyGoLightly046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a special .State House Inn is very clean, plenty of towels and even terry bath robes which is rare for just the average hotel. The hot breakfast was superb . I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BayaSpice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokomo IN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good location within walking distance of most downtown attractions. The king suite was huge. Furnishings are more stylish than comfortable, unfortunately. We are not big TV watchers, but TV reception was terrible in both rooms of the suite. Where this hotel shines, though, is the staff: absolutely wonderful people all around -- front desk, breakfast room, housekeeping, bartenders. Temperature controls in each room were a little tricky to get right.

Room Tip: West side rooms overlook parking lots; east side rooms should have city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATSF616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#13 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 101 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing