We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worn and workable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is not a bad place to stay for a day or two. Kinda difficult to find; easiest landmark is the Hyundai dealership on Dirksen Parkway; red roof inn is behind. Some rooms face I-55, adjacent to the property. Room was clean, heating worked, bath is ok. Bed was comfortable. superior King room had a workable desk. TVs are outmoded, for sure. On check in, I asked for room in the "other" building, facing away from the interstate. Was assigned; deck person called a few minutes late to make sure everything was ok. Nice touch, I thought. The furniture is a bit worn, the towels a little thin, the carpet a bit dated...but for the price, compared to other properties in the area at twice the tab, the Red Roof Inn is worn, but workable.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 2jbsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for your review on your Stay. Although not fully renovated yet, we pride ourselves on being able to offer a clean place , quiet area to give our guests and opportunity to rest from their journeys . We appreciate your feedback on your experience and we look forward to being able to have you as guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

Checked in told the man i needed the room for a week and check out friday. My husband and i stay in hotels for weeks at a time. I get a rude call on thursday saying i had to check out there was a mix up and called the front desk and got hung up on called back and the girl said hows it feel cause she stated i was rude WOW i went and talked to the manager and the girl proceded to get rude with me infront of the manager and started acting a bit ghetto VERRY UN PROFESSIONAL paid for a nicer roon was 30$ more a night and the only difference was a mini fridge microwave and desk. Will not stay here again people I wouldnt waste your time if you have any complaints be prepaired for a arguement with staff. The rooms were out dated pictures show of nocer rooms with flat screne TVs which they do not have as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannonR1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

I apologize for the experience you had during your stay. It is our goal to not only meet expectations but to exceed them and in this case it sounds like we did not accomplish either. I have spoken to my team about this goal and as always we are committed to our guests and their expectations of a nice place for a nice price. I hope you will give us the chance to exceed your expectations the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Hotels in the $30-$70 range need to be evaluated together and not compared to $80-up. You just have to expect that you get what you pay for. If you get a cheaper hotel, you know what you are in for and there will be a few things that are problems. This hotel was on the poor side. The front desk was nice but the hotel not great. It is in a blah location, the room was dingy and smelled odd. The lights were on but stilled looked dark. There was something going on outside and a security guard was called in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ok4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

I apologize for your experience here at our Inn. Our goal is to provide a nice place for a nice place and not meet but exceed our guests expectations. I am glad to hear we provided the right guest service and I apologize the room experience did not match that expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This hotel was nothing special, but definitely got the job done. We needed a clean place to sleep that was relatively close to town and that is exactly what we got. Friendly service at the desk, maps, and directions provided to everywhere we needed to go. A good no-frills place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maisouiamelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This was suppose to be one of the best values in Springfield. What!! I would not feel comfortable paying $20 for this room let alone $75. The room smelled like it was sprayed to mask the age of the 50 year old room. BUYER BEWARE!

Room Tip: No room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlakeLeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel was run down and dirty, but the worst was the very, very strong smell of commercial disinfectant in my room! The neighborhood and the clientele weren't great, so I didn't feel comfortable leaving the door or window open for long enough to air it out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We found this hotel with a hotel coupon book we picked up along the way. They honored the coupon amount and when we told them we also had 2 dogs there was absolutely no drama and no extra charge. The two other hotels nearby, Super 8 and Quality Inn, charged $15 per pet per night and $20 per pet per night, respectively. So good deal there.

Thing of note:

Clean room
Pet rooms on first floor with easy outdoor access
Huge area around and behind hotel to walk dogs, very little traffic
Breakfast was small but they at least had biscuits and gravy.
A/C worked fantastically (it was very hot outside while we were there)

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lovestotravelohyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Springfield East
Super 8 Springfield East
#34 of 38 in Springfield
370 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Springfield
Sleep Inn Springfield
#31 of 38 in Springfield
84 reviews
3.2 mi away
Route 66 Hotel And Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#25 of 38 in Springfield
126 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Springfield
Days Inn Springfield
#29 of 38 in Springfield
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Springfield

Address: 3200 Singer Ave, Springfield, IL 62703-2140
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range: £43 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing