We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome hotel and staff member david wilson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
whitehall il
1 review
“awesome hotel and staff member david wilson”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

we love staying at the red roof inn in springfield...always get treated great...we recommend david Wilson he has always been a great check in guy and they have excellent service....we highly recommend this hotel it is clean and the desk clerk makes sure everything is taken care of we will come back often

Room Tip: upper deck rooms way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for your recent stay information . We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay experience , We take great pride in giving you a great place to stay and offering you great customer service. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    25
    26
    24
    27
See reviews for
22
28
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Non smoking room reeked of smoke. There was road noise from the freeway and local road. The hotel backed to dark area that felt unsafe. I stayed in other similarly priced hotels which were much better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
I apologize for your experience at our inn. We are located off of the interstate and our guests do find the location provides convenience but we do try to place our guests in quiet areas if requested. We try an remain vigilant on monitoring our smoke free rooms for guest who may smoke in them and we will continue to stay on top of this so our guests can enjoy their stays in a clean and friendly environment. I hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Springfield hotels

Auburn, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The desk clerk David Wilson is one of the best I have seen, always friendly,cordial and helpfull even called the room to be sure everything ok, he get a "thumbs up" from me. Inn#40 I will definately come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay. We appreciate your feedback on your experience , We pride ourselves with able to offer a clean place and our staff enjoys giving great customer service. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My boyfriend and I checked in on Friday, January 11th for two nights. We have stayed here before and liked it so we returned. We were met at the front desk by David Wilson. He was the friendliest man. Very nice and helpful. Called us in our room shortly after unloading our vehicle to make sure we had all we needed. The house keeping staff was helpful and consistant. The man remembered us the follwoing morning by our room number and needs. He went out of his way to make sure we had what we needed and more. The room was very spacious and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. There's a coffee pot on the room making it convenient. There was also hot drinks available walking into the front office. The upkeep could be a little better. Our AC/heater unit was very dusty. Looked like it was almost falling apart. The filter needed to be changed. The shower head needed to be delimed. There was no pressure for the water. There were a few cobwebs in the bathroom and the ceiling had little pieces falling from it. When we first got in the room, there was a half drink diet coke can in the refrigerator. There want a hairdryer in the room which disappointed me especially with the cold weather and ice storm we had while here. Overall for the rate, it was comfortable and suited our needs for our weekend getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alighthart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for your resent review . Our staff is always willing to help ensure our guests are very comfortable in their stay. I apologize for the problems you had on your resent stay. Will go over these issues with the staff to ensure they are handled. Thank you for taking the opportunity to stay with us a second time and please choose us again if you’re in the our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is not a bad place to stay for a day or two. Kinda difficult to find; easiest landmark is the Hyundai dealership on Dirksen Parkway; red roof inn is behind. Some rooms face I-55, adjacent to the property. Room was clean, heating worked, bath is ok. Bed was comfortable. superior King room had a workable desk. TVs are outmoded, for sure. On check in, I asked for room in the "other" building, facing away from the interstate. Was assigned; deck person called a few minutes late to make sure everything was ok. Nice touch, I thought. The furniture is a bit worn, the towels a little thin, the carpet a bit dated...but for the price, compared to other properties in the area at twice the tab, the Red Roof Inn is worn, but workable.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 2jbsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for your review on your Stay. Although not fully renovated yet, we pride ourselves on being able to offer a clean place , quiet area to give our guests and opportunity to rest from their journeys . We appreciate your feedback on your experience and we look forward to being able to have you as guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Checked in told the man i needed the room for a week and check out friday. My husband and i stay in hotels for weeks at a time. I get a rude call on thursday saying i had to check out there was a mix up and called the front desk and got hung up on called back and the girl said hows it feel cause she stated i was rude WOW i went and talked to the manager and the girl proceded to get rude with me infront of the manager and started acting a bit ghetto VERRY UN PROFESSIONAL paid for a nicer roon was 30$ more a night and the only difference was a mini fridge microwave and desk. Will not stay here again people I wouldnt waste your time if you have any complaints be prepaired for a arguement with staff. The rooms were out dated pictures show of nocer rooms with flat screne TVs which they do not have as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonR1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
I apologize for the experience you had during your stay. It is our goal to not only meet expectations but to exceed them and in this case it sounds like we did not accomplish either. I have spoken to my team about this goal and as always we are committed to our guests and their expectations of a nice place for a nice price. I hope you will give us the chance to exceed your expectations the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Hotels in the $30-$70 range need to be evaluated together and not compared to $80-up. You just have to expect that you get what you pay for. If you get a cheaper hotel, you know what you are in for and there will be a few things that are problems. This hotel was on the poor side. The front desk was nice but the hotel not great. It is in a blah location, the room was dingy and smelled odd. The lights were on but stilled looked dark. There was something going on outside and a security guard was called in.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ok4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrispringfield, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Springfield, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
I apologize for your experience here at our Inn. Our goal is to provide a nice place for a nice place and not meet but exceed our guests expectations. I am glad to hear we provided the right guest service and I apologize the room experience did not match that expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Springfield East
Super 8 Springfield East
#33 of 38 in Springfield
351 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
0.9 mi away
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
Best Western Clearlake Plaza
#12 of 38 in Springfield
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 38 in Springfield
178 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 38 in Springfield
123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Springfield

Property: Red Roof Inn Springfield
Address: 3200 Singer Ave, Springfield, IL 62703-2140
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing