We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Handicapped Room With Its Own Handicaps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Introduction: I was part of a large group tour and had no choice as to room preference. I was assigned a handicap room by the elevator, my least preferred location.

The Room: The spacious room had a nice décor, good furniture and an LG flat screen TV. There was no easy chair or desk, just a table with two chairs. The lighting could have been better. The room contained a safe and refrigerator.

The Bathroom: NOTHING functioned properly in the bathroom. (1) The bathtub wouldn't stop dripping. I made sure the water was tightly turned off. Didn't help. I then turned to the shower position to see if the dripping would stop. It didn't. Also, every several minutes the drain would gurgle. Drip, drip, drip, gurgle, gurgle, drip, drip, drip. I shut the door to see if that would mute the sound. It didn't. Drip, drip, drip, gurgle, gurgle. (2) Being a handicapped room, there was no counter and the sink did not have much depth. It did not drain well and the sink backed up; not good when it wasn't very deep to begin with. (3) And now to the toilet. When flushing, the water would not stop running unless you manually raised the flush handle. Just about the most dysfunctional bathroom I've encountered. But, hey, the toiletries were nice.

Why Didn't I Change Rooms? I was part of a group tour and instructed to leave my luggage inside the room for pickup by the hotel staff in the morning. I feared there might be a communications gap and my luggage would be "lost" for continuation of the trip if I moved, assuming a room was even available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ChicagoKen60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

It is a standard hotel: clean and convenient but nothing spectacular or special. There was nobody at the valet station so that was not a great way to start our stay. Everything else was fine but not memorable. I

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank helran3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I am at this hotel for a convention and booked the hotel over the phone several weeks ago. I believe that since I made the reservation, this hotel became a Hilton Doubletree. Nonetheless, I arrived yesterday and they said they lost my reservation. They ended up finding it but it was for the wrong dates. I told Will, the front desk person who was very pleasant, that I thought it was odd that I didn't have to give a credit card over the phone for the reservation and he said that was not typical at all. He said they were full but he found me a room. I unloaded all of my luggage and made it up to the room only to find that it was dirty. He apologized and found me another room. The room is clean and spacious. Beds are comfortable. This morning I noticed that the door to my room doesn't lock securely unless I slam it. I'm sure my neighbors will not be happy with me. Next time, I will stay at the Hilton across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I booked this hotel wanted a convenient location in downtime Springfield to be able to walk to several of the Abraham Lincoln tourist sites. It was a good location walkable to both the indoor and outdoor (Lincoln's home neighborhood) museums. The hotel had a beautiful open lobby with multiple seating areas and the warm cookie given at check in was a nice touch. The room itself wasn't anything special. Average room, small table with 2 chairs, desk, small window with view of the convention center roof. No refrigerator available. We parked in the hotel parking and left for dinner so I believe it doubled our parking costs, $7.00 for each day, $14 total which seemed high for Springfield. The Lincoln sites are extremly well done and worthwhile, you will need to drive to his tomb from the hotel. There seemed to be adequate parking near both his home and musuem. After returning at night, my husband realized he left his toothbrush at our last hotel, most mid priced hotels now offer complimentary ammenties if needed. This hotel required he purchase a hotel at their gift shop. I can't imagine any hotels being taken advantage of for offering free toothbrushes. Did not use the pool, it had a gym look/feel to it. At night, while watching TV, a maintence man started entering our room, with no notification. Did not knock or announce himself. Had I been a single woman traveling, this would have been extremely upsetting. Although he quickly backed away and was full of apologies, this could be completely avoidable in any hotel by requiring hotel staff to knock before entering a room. I hope it is this hotel's policy and an oversight by this particular staff person. The nightly room cost was almost $150 which I thought was a high cost for the room/ammentities. It does offer good location though if that is your primary objective. It also reinforced for me the need to use the security latch whenever inside a hotel room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midwest25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Was greeted at door with fresh baked cookies, multiple men got everyone's bags up to the rooms about the time we got to them, great service. This was a bus trip with 50+ people so the rooms were prepaid with a group rate. Nothing about group rate on the quality of the room, excellent. Personally I didn't use the pool, but several friends did and said it was very nice. This is one of the few hotels that have flat screen TVs PLUS a HD signal, Love it, I mean why would a hotel put in flat screens and leave a Non-HD signal?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koestjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Springfield, IL
0 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State House
The State House
#9 of 38 in Springfield
974 reviews
3.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 701 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1616 (Formerly President Abraham Lincoln Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#3 Business Hotel in Springfield
#5 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £88 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newly renovated President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Our Springfield, IL hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Springfield, walking distance to Lincoln's home and the presidential musuem. Known for its exceptional service, attention to detail and exquisite cuisine. Discover our one of a kind hotel where guests become a part of the family. The atmosphere is both stimulating and comfortable, featuring a colorful palate of rich patterns and textures while providing the amenities to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Abraham Lincoln Hotel & Confernece Springfield
President Abraham Lincoln Hotel And Confernece Center
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield
Hotel President Abraham Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing