We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Beaufort, SC
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel itself is pretty much average, but the location is fabulous. We were in town to see the Abraham Lincoln Museum and Library, so we were able to walk there. It was a Sunday evening and the restaurant was closed, so we ate in the bar. The food was good and the service was excellent. I wish I could remember the server's name - he was so nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceBogdanovich, Public Relations Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I want to thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit with us. I was pleased to see that you were able to take advantage of the food and location of the hotel. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    340
    127
    43
    33
See reviews for
273
181
49
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I spent five days at the Doubletree and would definitely recommend it. We did not need a car because the location was so close to everything. It was a short walk to the Amtrak Station and an even shorter walk to most of the main tourist sites in town.

We were greeted with warm cookies and fresh fruit. Our room was your typical hotel room -- two double beds, large TV, desk, night stand, etc. We were offered a room with a mini-fridge, which we took. There was a good variety of stations on the TV and Crabtree & Evelyn shampoo, conditioners, etc. in the bathroom. There was also a coffee maker. The room was clean and comfortable.

The concierge recommended a restaurant up the street, which we tried and enjoyed. We had a fair number of requests for the front desk (plastic spoons, extra cups, extra shampoo, Fedex envelope, etc.) and everything was cheerfully provided.

We ate dinner one night at the hotel restaurant, Lindsay's. It was reasonably priced and the food was good.

On the downside, there is no laundry room (although they will send out your dry cleaning). The pool changing rooms were closed. The hot tub had an out-of-order sign on after the second day, but appeared to be functioning. I asked at the front desk and was told that the chlorine levels were too high, but that it was otherwise safe if I wanted to use it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baystater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceBogdanovich, Public Relations Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Baystater,

I want to thank you for sharing your thoughts on our hotel after your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you and your husband enjoyed your experience at the President Abraham Lincoln Springfield-a DoubleTree by Hilton. I am sorry that you weren't able to use the hot tub after the second day of your visit due to maintenance. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Our room was modern and clean, and nicely decorated. Had a good view of the downtown area too. Bed was comfortable. The front desk service was very good - polite, efficient, and friendly.

If you have a car, note that there is a charge for the adjacent parking garage. Not bad, though. When we went it was $7 for a 24 hour period.

We had a cocktail in the lounge. Atmosphere was a little bland, and the lighting too bright. But the young man who was tending bar was great.

Breakfast service was pretty unfortunate, which is too bad, because the quality of the food was very good. The kitchen staff deserves a good review. As to service, specifically (1) We had to wait too long to be seated, (2) They spread our party of 8 across 2 tables, although they easily could have accommodated us if they had moved a few tables together by a banquette wall, and (3) We were asked straight off, "Will you be selecting off the menu or having the buffet?" Well, that's hard to decide before we see a menu or know what's on the buffet, isn't it?

Overall, the hotel was very nice, and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors give more interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunawayBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceBogdanovich, Public Relations Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I want to thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit with us. I was pleased to see that you were overall happy about your stay. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience at the restaurant. We will make sure that will not happen in the future. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Springfield.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My stay at the Double Tree in Springfield Il. was fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. I was in Springfield for a business trip and the hotel was clean and the employees were excellent. I will use the Double Tree for my next trip to Springfield.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Drew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceBogdanovich, Public Relations Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
RunawayBoomer,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to see that you had a great stay at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield-a DoubleTree by Hilton. It seems like you were able to take advantage of the location of the hotel as you visited the great sights in the area. I apologize for the service quality you mentioned in the restaurant. We will discuss the matter as a team to ensure that this does not happen again. We hope that when your travels bring you back to Springfield, we will remain a top choice for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontiac, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The rooms were very nice and the beds were very soft and comfortable. The service was slow in the restaurant for breakfast. Also, we were disappointed that the hot tub was not in working order. The location was easy to get to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceBogdanovich, Public Relations Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I want to thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit with us. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience at the spa and the slow service at the restaurant. We will fix the issues right away and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Springfield.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is my third stay with the Springfield DoubleTree. You have the warmest, most comfortable bed, bed linens and pillows of any hotel that I have ever stayed. I would love to know where I could purchase your pillows and linens. The room is quite cozy and aesthetically pleasing

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceBogdanovich, Public Relations Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I want to thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit with us. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay and enjoyed the comfortable beds and pillows. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Springfield.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was an excellent trip with the exception of a hair left on the shower wall. The hair was there for most of my stay and was removed on the day before I left. Breakfast was an excellent experience, the hotel was close to my company's training center and the staff was very helpful from the time of my arrival until the day I left. They even provided a ride to the training center so that I would not get wet in the rain. That one act of kindness and service is a step above all of the rest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceBogdanovich, Public Relations Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I want to thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit with us. I am happy to hear that you had an excellent experience at our hotel. I apologize for the cleanliness issue in your bathroom. We gathered with our team to make sure this will never happen again. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Springfield.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.4 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#14 of 38 in Springfield
242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#6 of 38 in Springfield
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 701 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1616 (Formerly President Abraham Lincoln Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#3 Business Hotel in Springfield
#6 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newly renovated President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Our Springfield, IL hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Springfield, walking distance to Lincoln's home and the presidential musuem. Known for its exceptional service, attention to detail and exquisite cuisine. Discover our one of a kind hotel where guests become a part of the family. The atmosphere is both stimulating and comfortable, featuring a colorful palate of rich patterns and textures while providing the amenities to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Abraham Lincoln Hotel & Confernece Springfield
President Abraham Lincoln Hotel And Confernece Center
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield
Hotel President Abraham Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing