We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than we were expecting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Lindenhurst, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than we were expecting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I am so glad this was what we decided on! Rooms were excellent and couldn't ask for anything more! So close to everything in the downtown area and we had a perfect view of Lincoln's home!! There is a shuttle to/from Amtrak and I am sure that would go for the airport as well. We walked from the Amtrak cause it was close but Saturday morning we decided to use the shuttle back to the train.

There are not a lot of family restaurants or places to eat that are nearby if you are walking. We did not rent a car so we walked all over looking for places to take the kids to eat. Most of the Cafe's and other places to eat were closed around lunch time, so it was difficult!! If we rented a car, it would have been much easier to eat. Nearby walking distance is Bennigan's, Subway, and Jimmy Johns. Those were familiar places.

We ate breakfast at the restaurant downstairs and it was pretty expensive for myself and 2 kids. I don't even spend that much when we go out to dinner, so the next breakfast we had at Subway. Much cheaper! That would probably be my only complaint, the money spent at the hotel restaurant. Otherwise, best place in Springfield!

Room Tip: King Suite was incredible! We had a corner room so our view faced where Lincoln's home was!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauleyrixmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Paulkeyrixmix,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Glad that you enjoyed your king suite!! We have an amazing location and our recent renovation makes us one of the best hotel values in Springfield!

Come back and visit us soon!

Sincerely,

Bob V,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    323
    114
    37
    29
See reviews for
251
165
43
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We needed a place to stay the night before flying out of the SPI airport. This airport was very convenient to the airport. Our rooms were very nice. We are a family of five and got two adjoining rooms because no suites were available. There aren't a lot of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyinChambana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Christyin Chambana,

Thank you for your complimentary review. Glad to know that you enjoyed our location. It is convenient not only the airport, but the train station and all of the historical sites in the Springfield area. We hope taht you will return soon!

Sincerely,

Bob V,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very good quality. The room was clean and fresh and near all of the Lincoln events. The staff was very helpful in explaining how to get to the sites. The only issue we had is that the Monday morning breakfast did not contain any "hot" items on the breakfast buffet. The waitress stated that they usually don't have enough people on a Monday morning to make it "worth their while." Other than that, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Kevin C,

Thanks for your thoughtful review. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, staff and facilities. I will address with staff our procedures on the breakfast buffet to insure that all guests are treated with a great value and choice when dining in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to Springfield and the Abraham Lincoln Hotel real soon.

Sincerely,

Bob V,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel has a classic feel to it......updated modern conveniences. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with numerous choices. There is a charge for parking in the garage, but street parking is available at no cost from 5pm thru 8am.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Randy S,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate all of our guests comments and we were especially pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon!

Sincerely,

Bob V,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I travel every week for work and stay in Hilton hotels by choice . If there is a Double Tree then I chose it over the others under the brand . I find the staff with them usually very nice and helpful and they always have a smile waiting for you when you return to the hotel after work . This was not the case for this one . THIS HOTEL either has not let the employees know what is expected or they do not care. The nicest people I dealt with in the hotel was the ENTIRE Valet staff . I mean every single one of them smile and ask you how your day was and asked me if I planned on going back out so they could park closer and I would have less wait if they needed to get it for me later. Thoughtful ! The front desk staff is less then welcoming not one greeting as you came or went . You could tell that she didn't want to be there much less deal with you . On more then one occasion stood there as they spoke to one another and ignored me . I had just stayed at the DoubleTree in Bloomington and my thought is they should bring some of that staff down to this hotel and so that this staff can watch the real pros . The room was super clean and it looks like a doubletree on the inside but once you leave the room its like you are staying in any other lower end hotel . Honestly I have had way better service at the Hilton Garden Inn . The parking garage is super sketchy and I don't even think it should be there ! I would use their valet parking for sure . This stay will not keep me out of DoubleTree hotels but it will sure keep me out of this one. I will be returning to the area again for work and I will pick something else or stay in Bloomington and make the drive down

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mishell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Mishell C,

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate all of our guests comments and will use yours in an effort to improove. I am pleased that you you found our valet service to be exceptional. You have a good idea regarding bringing someone from Bloomington here. I am pleased to let you know that we have recently hired the Assistant General Manager from the Bloomington Doubletree and he has already begun to make improvements in guest service at the desk and elsewhere in the hotel. I hope that you will give us another chance to serve you and hopefully regain your confidence in our ability to deliver the GREAT Doubletree service that you are accustomed too.

Sincerely,

Bob V,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This well know hotel has come a long way since being bought out of bankruptcy and recently earned the Doubletree flag. Nothing really fancy but everything you need in a central location. It is a great place to stay in Springfield to catch the spirit of our capital, especially late at night in The Globe Tavern when the Geberal Assembly is in session.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TahitiJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Jom 1522,

Thank you for your complimentary review. I was pleased to see that you found our location to be ideal and that you enjoy the Globe Tavern. It is quite the place to be during legislative session. Please return soon and often!


Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

excellent location, attractive hotel, near super Italian restaurant, Lincolnalia; friendly staff, lovely lobby,smooth elevator; well-run convention site for the Illinois Reading Conference; convenient parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear David L,

Thank you for your very complimentary review. We are delighted that you found not only our hotel but our location to be excellent. We are surrounded by a number of great restaurants including the Italian one you referred too. We hope that you will return soon and often.

Sincerely,

Bob V
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#8 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#13 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 701 East Adams Street, Springfield, IL 62701 (Formerly President Abraham Lincoln Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#3 Business Hotel in Springfield
#6 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newly renovated President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Our Springfield, IL hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Springfield, walking distance to Lincoln's home and the presidential musuem. Known for its exceptional service, attention to detail and exquisite cuisine. Discover our one of a kind hotel where guests become a part of the family. The atmosphere is both stimulating and comfortable, featuring a colorful palate of rich patterns and textures while providing the amenities to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Abraham Lincoln Hotel And Confernece Center
President Abraham Lincoln Hotel & Confernece Springfield
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield
Hotel President Abraham Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing