We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Illinois trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Wonderful stay in Springfield. Extremely close to many Lincoln sites and downtown area. $10 charge daily for parking on top of room fees was a little much, but unlimited access in and out was nice. Great view from room and outstanding service throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MFear, Manager at Wyndham Springfield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Philip T.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am delighted you had an opportunity to visit to the Lincoln sites so close to our hotel. We enjoyed having you with us and look forward to your next trip to Springfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,171)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Springfield City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

782 - 788 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed at the Hilton in Springfield while at a work convention. The hotel staff were very attentive and went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. They were more than willing to recommend restaurants in the area. The front desk staff were exceptionally helpful. They gave suggestions of places to eat, always helped with directions and answered all of our questions. The staff were very kind to point us in the right direction when we were looking for certain convention rooms. The serving staff were great as well. They always served ladies first, which is a small detail, but shows the level of class at this hotel.

The hotel itself is in decent shape. It's the tallest building around by far. You get great views of Springfield. I stayed on the 10th floor and had an awesome view of the capitol building. At sunset it's absolutely breath taking.

It's oddly noisy. Due to it being the tallest building in Springfield, and the way that the tower was built, on a windy day the building makes "creaking" noises. The front desk will supply you with ear plugs if needed.

There is a parking garage attached to the building. There is a Bennigan's, Starbucks, Gift Shop, salon, and the 30th floor has a beautiful bar/restaurant.

I didn't spend time in the pool, but it looked nice. If visiting Springfield again, this hotel would be one of our top choices.

Room Tip: The 10th floor rooms were great. You got a great view, but you didn't feel the swaying of the b...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MFear, Owner at Wyndham Springfield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

wittymommy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review. It is our mission to meet your every need and pamper you. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the conference and will pass your comments on to our staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We will never stay at this hotel again.
It was very windy and we wer on the 15th floor. The room creaked and rattled and groaned all the while. When we called the front desk we were informed they had ear plugs. They need to redo this whole hotel. I did not feel safe staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tpcostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MFear, Manager at Wyndham Springfield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Tpcostello,

I am so sorry to hear the wind did not allow you to enjoy your stay with us. Please be assured our hotel is structurally safe. It has been built to withstand the wind and weather that can plague the Midwest from time to time. I hope you will change your mind and give us another try the next time you are in Springfield. My desire is that you can experience our hotel during a time we are not be experiencing extreme weather conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our stay was during the IDTA State Finals Feb 14-16. Dance teams state wide and their families filled the facility. Staff was efficient and helpful. This facility is not new but is well maintained and clean.Interesting round shape and views are excellent. Some other reviews are not very complementary but I had no negative issues. On sight Starbucks and Bennigans were very convenient due to poor weather conditions. This is not a budget facility or location but I thought the value was appropriate for the state capitol area.

Room Tip: higher floors on south side have good views of downtown and Capitol.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasonedtraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MFear, Manager at Wyndham Springfield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

seasonedtraveler333,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. Delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and our staff was attentive. We hope you choose to stay with us again during the competition next February.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Overall, I really loved this hotel. Warm and welcoming staff, hot cider in the lobby, a great breakfast buffet, wonderful room service (loved the Salmon), Bennigan's and Starbucks right in the building, wonderful bed in my king room, clean, nicely furnished, and an excellent location in downtown...

The only downside is that on the 14th floor where I stayed (and I'm assuming on all the upper floors) the wind makes a loud creaking noise on the windows. It kept me up two of the three nights we stayed there. We were not having any sort of big windstorm but rather 10-15 mph winds that shouldn't be rattling in such a way. I'm usually a heavy sleeper so the fact that I was up and down all night, shows that it was disruptive. A call to the front desk confirmed that it was the wind making the noise but they seemed pretty matter of fact about it as if there as really nothing they could do. The only other downside was that the very nice pool area did not have a hot tub. :(

Ahhh... well. Overall, everything else was really nice!

Room Tip: Upper floors may have loud window creaking.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeIsRosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MFear, Manager at Wyndham Springfield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

LifeIsRosey,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and restaurants. I am so sorry to hear you were unable to sleep because of the wind. We have experienced the most extreme winter conditions this year. Because we are the tallest building in Springfield, there is very little to act as a wind break. It was a pleasure to have you with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions for business purposes. If you are attending an event at the convention center across the street or have business at the capital, this is the best hotel in the area. The rooms are clean and the hotel staff is always accommodating. The hotel is within walking distance to Amtrak and the Lincoln Library and Museum(few blocks away).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank KKM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MFear, Manager at Wyndham Springfield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

KKM19,

First, thank you for staying with us and for your continued loyalty. I am delighted to hear that you emjoyed your stay. We look forwar to having with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Although the staff was very pleasant & helpful, some of the physical features of the hotel need improvement; for example, bathrooms are too small & furnishings are showing signs of age. The hotel also smelled of smoke during my stay due to an electrical fire on the day I arrived. However, the staff did its best to be accommodating and room service was prompt; while this wasn't a great stay, it had both positive and negative aspects.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Ellen D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MFear, Manager at Wyndham Springfield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Ellen D W,

Thank you for staying with us. I wanted you to know that we are in the process of renovating our guest rooms. I am hopeful we will be able to accommodate you in one of these rooms the next time you are with us. I apologize the smoke smell bother you during this visit. It took a couple of days for us to remove the remnants of the problem we experienced the day of your arrival. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Springfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.0 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
3.3 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#16 of 38 in Springfield
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Springfield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Springfield City Centre

Address: 700 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £84 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Springfield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the award-winning Wyndham Springfield City Centre located downtown near many attractions and state buildings. This hotel offers complimentary shuttles to the airport for your convenience. It also boasts the best views of the city. All guest rooms come with complimentary WiFi and comfortable queen or king beds. Dine at one of the restaurants located inside the hotel including Nick and Nino's Penthouse Steakhouse. The extensive meeting space and proximity to the convention center make this hotel ideal for groups as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Springfield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing