We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pay $20 more to stay ANYwhere else!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Springfield East
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Godfrey, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pay $20 more to stay ANYwhere else!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I've stayed here twice. First time, reserved 2 nights but only stayed 1. I was only charged for 1. No issues occurred. Not the nicest place, but back for business & chose it again because it was close to work. This time, checked in Friday night, cc was authorized for that night. At 8am Saturday morning, I went to front desk & asked if I could reserve the room another night. I asked to pay cash for my second night. Clerk said ok then authorized my card anyway. So, I said "I'll take my money back." Why would I pay cash AND let you authorize my card? Makes no sense. When he gave me back the money, he tried to authorize my card for a THIRD time. At this point I'm furious. I feel like I'm being ripped off. The clerk speaks little English & waves me off. I show him that 1. You've charged my card 2 nights already 2. The paper I just signed shows that charge. He waves me off.
That evening, I cut my stay short & check out at 1130pm. Keep in mind, my card is already authorized for the 2 nights (I'm leaving early this second night & do not expect a discount). The clerk proceeds to try to authorize my card a third time & demands I pay cash for the 2nd night. I fold & do so. I ask for a receipt bc I think I'm going to get ripped off. The receipt was thrown at me after he had issues getting it to print.
Now.....here I an, out $141+on my cc AND paid $70.68 for my room cash. Hoping the authorizations fall off.
Moral of the story--don't stay in a hotel that's $70 a night. They are horrible.
My KING bed was a queen. The tv was less than a 32inch. It felt wet everywhere. The coverlet had stains that appeared to be grease, I threw it on the floor. The sheet had a spot--gross!! I removed it as well. The parking lot SUCKS. You can only turn out of it one way and then you have to uturn!! Oh and it's LOUD.
Just save yourself the trouble. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rashmin P, Manager at Super 8 Springfield East, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Madam
We apologies for the mistake. Card traction thing was a simple human error and not the intention to rip off your money. And your bed was a queen bed only it was not a king bed for sure because you checked in for a queen bed only and we charged for queen bed only. We only have king beds in handicap accessible rooms only.
Once again we apologies for any inconvenience you had with your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    89
    89
    52
    55
See reviews for
101
76
35
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheelersburg, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights while visiting Lincoln sites in Springfield and found the room met our needs just fine. The king bed room was large and comfortable with micro and fridge, separate sink, and large bath. There was traffic noise from busy street in front of the hotel, but it was mostly masked by running the A/C. Our major beef was the fact you can only access or leave the hotel by going north on Dirksen. Meant a bit of hassle when approaching from the north. Would reccomend as price was very good compared with others in town and made the access problem worth dealing with to save the money for more vacation fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohi0Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Building clearly shows signs of wear and tear, but the interior appears to be in process of redecorating with new paint and carpet. It isn't a warm and comfy place to stay long term - just sleep and move on. Queen bed was fine. Breakfast is bare bones all carbohydrate so plan to eat somewhere else if you need meat and protein to fire up your engines! Some of the electric items in the room weren't working but the front desk did have an iron and ironing board available upon request. Hey, it's a Super 8 so don't expect a 5 star experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Red Roof Inn Springfield
#27 of 38 in Springfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza
BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza
#14 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Springfield
Days Inn Springfield
#31 of 38 in Springfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#8 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.6 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#12 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Springfield East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Springfield East

Property: Super 8 Springfield East
Address: 1330 S Dirksen Pkwy, Springfield, IL 62703-2125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Springfield East 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Springfield East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Springfield
Super Eight Springfield
Springfield Super Eight
Springfield Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing