We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard hotel with great and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Hampshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Standard hotel with great and friendly staff”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

About what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, fairly standard, but reliable and clean.

Very friendly and helpful staff, particularly the frontdesk staff.

The hotel is a little of out town, but not hugely so. It's part of the suburban sprawl around the city proper. It's right next to a Ramada Oasis that you can visit to use the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardTinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    78
    59
    28
    15
See reviews for
74
69
16
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Recently, I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel with my grandchildren, Jada and Joshua. From the very moment we checked in, I felt at home. Denise, who checked us in, was very helpful with suggestions of things to do.
Next day, we visited the Lincoln Museum and New Salem. Afterwards, thanks to Denise's suggestion, we went to the Illinois State Museum, where my grandkids were able to play, read and have a relaxing time int he museum basement.
At night, we slept very well, unlike my previous experience at another Springfield hotel a few years ago, where people were running around on the hall and talking loudly during the late hours. Barbara, the housekeeper was very helpful cleaning our room promptly and suggesting things for the kids to entertain themselves.
This hotel is located right off the highway and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Each night we went to a different place for dinner.
The pool was next door at the Crowne Plaza. Beautiful hotel and easily accessible! Thanks again to Barbara, Denise and Ashley H for making my stay at the Holiday Inn a very restful and pleasant one.
Carmen Berrios

Room Tip: My room was on the 4th floor on the opposite side of the Crowne Plaza. I don't think it makes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your comments and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed here recently on business travel and must say the staff is great. They make you feel at home and had great recommendations for places to eat and things to do. It's great that you can get all the extras from the hotel next door. I will be back on my next trip to Springfield.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We just stayed at this hotel, and it was not like last year. The staff is very nice, but our rooms were very dusty and the bathroom smelled all weekend. The property offers free breakfast, and it was just "okay", The upside was the fact that our kids could use the pool at their adjacent property, The Crowne. I've stayed at 2 other Holiday Inn's this year, and this one was not up to par. I also know that we'll be visiting next year too, but I know we'll be choosing a different property.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfcq169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
We appreciate your business and I hope to see you again next year. I will address the cleanliness issues with our housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here for one night due to a good rate on Hotwire.

It had a decent location if you have a car but was not walkable to anything.

The room was a good size and we had access to the amenities next door. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Cribs were readily available with short notice.

We were not here long and I will stay here again when we come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank ashleyinathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleair, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

May 31, 2013: It was storming and our travel from Detroit & IN was horrible due to torrential rain & thunderstorms. We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express Springfield, IL late & with a confirmed reseservation to encounter power outages. The facility generator kicked in, so lights were in the lobby. Ashley was extremely helpful with a great attitude. She not only provided us a flaslight to see while climbing the stairwell because elevators couldn't function but also literally carried both my husband's and my suitcase at the same time up the stairs--third floor. My husband has a foot & ankle issue therefore couldn't carry his own. In all my travels, I've never had a more willing spirit to assist. Plus the next morning, she was still smiling after that long night of trying to make everyone comfortable. KUDOS to Ashley.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thanks for the time you took to recognize above and beyond service. We appreciate your business and loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

When we checked in, the girl at the front desk was busy talking to her co-workers then talked to us for about 5 mins on her new found out diabetes condition before getting us checked in. Once we got our stuff, our key didn't work to get us into the back door of the hotel. Luckily for us, someone was coming out and was able to open the door for us before we got soaked by the torential down pours. Once we got to our room, we had to call the front desk to get our internet access code. The bed was hard and there was an issues with the a/c so it was above 75 in the room the whole night. On top of that, the soda machine on our floor didn't work and while riding the elevator, the doors opened before we even reached our floor which made for a scary experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseballgirl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay. I hope we were able to make up for the inconvenience, and encourage you to contact the hotel if you are still dissatisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Springfield
Crowne Plaza Springfield
#18 of 38 in Springfield
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#10 of 38 in Springfield
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#6 of 38 in Springfield
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Address: 3050 S Dirksen Pkwy, Springfield, IL 62703-4504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Springfield, IL features 140 deluxe guest rooms including, 2 parlor suites. All rooms are equipped with microwaves and fridges, Kuerig coffee makers, hair dryers, iron/ironing boards, and free high speed wireless Internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Springfield has one meeting room, a fitness center, and a guest laundry facility. Every morning a deluxe hot complimentary Continental breakfast is served from 6:30am-9:30am in the hotel great room. Holiday Inn Express guests are able to utilize all Crowne Plaza Hotel's facilities next door i.e. Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, and the restaurant/lounge. We are conveniently located directly off Interstate 55 (exit 94) and historic Route 66. The hotel is located near the World Headquarters for Bunn-O-Matic Corporation, HD Smith, Illinois Department of Transportation, and the Illinois Secretary of State office complexes. The Holiday Inn Express-Springfield is minutes from historic Abraham Lincoln sites, including the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Just minutes from the Illinois State Fair Grounds and numerous golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing