We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for an older, somewhat worn HIE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here while attending a conference at the full service crowne plaza next door.

We stay in HIE properties quite a bit. This one had all the normal items, but the entire place felt rather "tired." It appeared like it had been retrofitted at some point in time, which if not done well, shows. The ceiling in the bathroom was about 6'6" high, so something must have been added after the hotel was built. The counter in the bathroom was the older style, not that this makes a lot of difference.

Breakfast appeared to be the standard HIE fare, although I ate at my convention, so did not partake.

The route from this property to the full service crowne plaza next door was interesting. Basically you go through a back door down a gloomy hallway past the areas where they store tables, and convention center items. These two properties are almost certainly owned or managed by the same group, so I was surprised they didn't have this figured out better.

I would stay here again, but wouldn't want to if I was trying to make an impression on someone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Illiniwek66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We appreciate your feedback and value your opinion. I have forwarded your comments on to Crowne Plaza management so we can make the hallway more welcoming and accessible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

My name is Latricia Tall. I came to this hotel as a sponsor of a group of 20 children who are members of the National Junior Beta Club. The staff ( Anecha, Ashley,Janet, Kelly,Trene, Denise, and David ) were very accommodating to our group!! We had a late train ride out, so they held our luggage while we went out to lunch (about 22 bags).They helped us to get transportation to the train station, and they found an extra room for us even though the hotel was full to capacity with convention participants! We had a great free breakfast, which saved our members time and money because we didn't have to go out to buy breakfast! We received service with a smile from all the front-desk and housekeeping staff!! The rooms were comfortable and clean; and the beds and pillows were perfect!! We will definitely stay at this hotel again in the future!! Loved it!! ; )

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thanks for the great comments! We enjoyed hosting Beta Club and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Anecha and the front desk crew made me feel welcomed, accommodated, and answered all questions I had. They were patient and thorough in their help and guidance of local places to visit. All around an excellent experience! Job well done!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have NO complaints about this hotel at all! We had several family members converge for a delayed Christmas and couldn't be happier about the facility. The location is GREAT! The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and when our group got too large to be contained in one room, we were welcomed into the lobby to play our card games there. In particular, I have to mention the stellar customer service of desk clerk Ashley. She knows the town very well and pointed me in exactly the directions I needed to go. The recommendations she shared were terrific. She is an excellent ambassador for the hotel. Since we were only there for one night and had a full agenda, we had no need of the pool next door at the Crowne Plaza, but it was easy to get to if we had! Would I stay there again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momski54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Capital City. Thanks for staying and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Everyone is very nice and helpful. The place is quiet. For those who want a pool, bar or restaurant, this hotel is adjacent to another Holiday Inn company property, a Crowne Plaza, where the HIE patrons may use the pool. I assume the room service meals also come from the Crowne Plaza. There is an amazing number of restaurants near this hotel, both franchises and locally-owned. The Housekeeping could be better. A little mildew in the corners of the shower was present when I checked in and was not taken care of during the first visit by housekeeping and I had to mention it. Also, tile floor inside the door (in front of kitchenette unit) was not wiped well by housekeeping during my stay. Door on freezer section of refrigerator unit is missing and causes food in the refrigerator to freeze. Irritating that there is no access to a stairway except for emergencies; some of us like a little exercise. HIE free breakfasts of eggs, sausage & gravy, have not varied whatsoever in the 4 states and 3 years of business travel I have experienced the franchise. The unvarying food gets a bit old after several days or weeks on the road, but then no one is forcing me to eat it. I stick with this chain in part due to the points program in which the points never expire, and because my experiences are overall positive.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank marleyjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel was nice and clean. It was not too far away from shopping and a good price. It was obviously an older hotel and could use refreshing. The breakfast was good as usual except for the eggs. They were the folded over with cheese and were previously frozen without taste. Not my kind of eggs by far but the rest was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strodemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here with Corporate Lodging for close to two months, Myself and my crew had many rooms reserved, which obviously comes with many needs. Ashley H. at the front desk is an incredible woman/host. She was always extremely helpful and always in a fantastic mood. She is the reason we will be returning if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Springfield, IL
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 38 in Springfield
224 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
Wingate by Wyndham Springfield
#23 of 38 in Springfield
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Address: 3050 S Dirksen Pkwy, Springfield, IL 62703-4504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £64 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Springfield, IL features 140 deluxe guest rooms including, 2 parlor suites. All rooms are equipped with microwaves and fridges, Kuerig coffee makers, hair dryers, iron/ironing boards, and free high speed wireless Internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Springfield has one meeting room, a fitness center, and a guest laundry facility. Every morning a deluxe hot complimentary Continental breakfast is served from 6:30am-9:30am in the hotel great room. Holiday Inn Express guests are able to utilize all Crowne Plaza Hotel's facilities next door i.e. Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, and the restaurant/lounge. We are conveniently located directly off Interstate 55 (exit 94) and historic Route 66. The hotel is located near the World Headquarters for Bunn-O-Matic Corporation, HD Smith, Illinois Department of Transportation, and the Illinois Secretary of State office complexes. The Holiday Inn Express-Springfield is minutes from historic Abraham Lincoln sites, including the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Just minutes from the Illinois State Fair Grounds and numerous golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing