We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Route 66 Start”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Route 66 Start”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Only stayed one night of our tour, it was all nice and clean and friendly staff.
We got to the Hotel late due to the weather very heavy rain and a Tornado warning luckily nothing happened.
As we only stayed one night i am not sure if this would reflect a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    76
    58
    28
    15
See reviews for
73
68
16
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, IL
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express this week. The air conditioning went out and the hotel got very hot. We had one sleepless night. The next morning, the front desk said they had just fixed the air conditioning and we should feel the room getting cool soon. We waited until 5:00pm that night and the room was still very hot. When we talked to the front desk, they said that only half the system was up and that the other half just got fixed and we should start to feel the cool air. We decided we had had enough, and checked out of the hotel and into a hotel across the street. They handled the situation appropriately, and totally refunded our entire stay without asking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
It was a hot day here at the hotel! I completely understand leaving due to the extreme heat. The humidity outside was not helping the cause either. I hope you can visit us again and enjoy our new mattresses and a cool, air-conditioned room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had several road bumps during our stay here. We requested a refrigerator prior to our arrival and we were told it would cost us an additional $25 per night. We complied and were not given one when we arrived. Our room was not comforting. It was in need of cosmetic fixes and upgrades and it was not as clean as it should have been. Housekeeping did not attend to us and the phones in our room did not work. On the up side, the location was fine and the breakfast was good. Staffmember Elvyra was great each morning! Very prompt, friendly, and personable. My husband stays here for business, but it's not high on my list due to cleanliness. Free breakfast was a perk here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I will address the cleanliness concerns with the housekeeping manager. I appreciate the feedback on Elvyra and have passed along the compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We always check first for a Holiday Inn Express and have found that they are modern, clean, spacious and overall a nice place to stay for a few nights. We were disappointed with this property and don't feel that this should be part of the Holiday Inn Express brand. It appears to be a property that was purchased from lower quality, no frills, basic brand and never updated.

The air conditioning unit is wall-mounted, pointing downward and blew cold air directly on us. The furniture was basic, scuffed and out-dated. Ceiling tiles stained and valances falling. We needed to call the front desk and the phones did not work. One side of the building faces the property next door and all we heard all night was the noise from the air conditioning compressors which were on that side of the building. Thank goodness for ear plugs. The bed was comfortable, but while other Holiday Inn Express properties offer both soft and firm pillows, we had only soft pillows.

There are other properties along the same road, which is right off the highway and across from restaurants and shopping. Choose another property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom2Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have addressed the pillows with housekeeping since we do have both soft and firm pillows in all of our rooms. Our mattresses are only two months old so I hope you were comfortable throughout the night. If you were to come back and give us another shot I would be happy to find you a room on the other side of the building away from any noise. Thanks for your feedback and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was greeted by Ashley H., one of the friendliest check-in clerks I have ever encountered. She answered my questions before I even had time to ask them. The hotel is clean and the bed was very comfortable with excellent soft pillows. They have a nice breakfast area with an attendant that keeps everything stocked and clean. My only complaint is that the handicapped parking spaces aren't close to the accessible rooms so it can be a pain if you have difficulty walking. I have stayed here many times and will continue to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to recognize our staff! Ashley and Elvyra do a great job and its nice to hear feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is clean and neat. The employees were very friendly and helpful We were greeted upon our arrival by a delight lady who made us laugh.

When we were ready to check out I had a problem printing my boarding pass and Ashley H. was extremely helpful and kind.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. We attended the Prairie Land National Mustang Show. The entire staff was very friendly & helpful. The breakfast was good & the area was very clean. The bed was very comfortable & the room was clean.
Ashley H helped me with my reservations & any questions I had. She was very friendly & always had a smile for us. We will stay here again the next time we are in the Springfield area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Its our pleasure co-hosting the car show and we hope to see all the classic cars again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#11 of 38 in Springfield
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Springfield
Crowne Plaza Springfield
#18 of 38 in Springfield
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#6 of 38 in Springfield
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Address: 3050 S Dirksen Pkwy, Springfield, IL 62703-4504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Springfield, IL features 140 deluxe guest rooms including, 2 parlor suites. All rooms are equipped with microwaves and fridges, Kuerig coffee makers, hair dryers, iron/ironing boards, and free high speed wireless Internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Springfield has one meeting room, a fitness center, and a guest laundry facility. Every morning a deluxe hot complimentary Continental breakfast is served from 6:30am-9:30am in the hotel great room. Holiday Inn Express guests are able to utilize all Crowne Plaza Hotel's facilities next door i.e. Indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, and the restaurant/lounge. We are conveniently located directly off Interstate 55 (exit 94) and historic Route 66. The hotel is located near the World Headquarters for Bunn-O-Matic Corporation, HD Smith, Illinois Department of Transportation, and the Illinois Secretary of State office complexes. The Holiday Inn Express-Springfield is minutes from historic Abraham Lincoln sites, including the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Just minutes from the Illinois State Fair Grounds and numerous golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing