We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little guesthouse”
Review of Guesthouse Dalbaer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Dalbaer
Ranked #5 of 5 Fludir B&B and Inns
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little guesthouse”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here on our second night in Iceland and weren't disappointed. The guesthouse was clean, warm and quite charming. Three cute little bedrooms upstairs (very, very narrow staircase, FYI), and a nice full kitchen, sitting area and bathroom on the main floor. After our first night in Iceland (Reykjavik), it was wonderfully quiet.

Breakfast was at the owner's house next door and was very good. She was very helpful in checking the latest road and weather conditions for us before we continued our journey. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleJen41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berglind M, Public Relations Manager at Guesthouse Dalbaer, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your visit and your review, always welcome again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

During a three week self-drive tour all around Iceland, Guesthouse Dalbær was our first experience with an Icelandic Farmhouse/Guesthouse. It was a perfect start! The house was spotless, the rooms were comfortable, the view was amazing, the breakfast was delicious, and the owner was very friendly. The guesthouse consists of a living room, bathroom, kitchen, and three bedrooms. The stairs leading up to the bedrooms are a little steep, but there is a railing. Outdoors there is a hotpot...so warm and relaxing. We spent sometime chatting with the owner in the morning, she was wonderful. She told us about her mother-in-law, who knits all day, and showed us some of her sweaters, socks, hats and mitts. They do sell them, and at a fraction of the cost that you will find elsewhere. I recommend that if you see something you like, buy it from her....you´ll save money big time!

Thank you Guesthouse Dalbær for making our first night in Iceland perfect! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a Farmhouse expericence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingFinn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berglind M, Public Relations Manager at Guesthouse Dalbaer, responded to this review, 14 June 2015
Thank you for staying with us, always welcome again,

All the best from sunny Iceland

Berglind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellijay
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was our first experience with Iceland Guesthouses. The owners were so pleasant and helpful. It was spotlessly clean (make sure you take your shoes off; a common courtesy at all guest houses) and quite spacious, with a living room, full kitchen and bath downstairs and 3 bedrooms upstairs. Note: very steep steps going upstairs. Breakfast was served in the owner's house. Horse pasture in back yard made you appreciate the country atmosphere. Be sure to try out the ground level trampoline!

Room Tip: We didn't try out the hot pot, but it was nicely maintained and on a patio with privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver1953Atlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berglind M, Public Relations Manager at Guesthouse Dalbaer, responded to this review, 14 June 2015
Thank you for staying with us, always welcome again,

All the best from sunny Iceland

Berglind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

A bit tricky to find, but then again it was my first day of driving in Iceland. This family run B&B is delightful. My room was upstairs and had a lovely view of farmland and beyond. Sharing a bathroom with occupants of one other room did not present a problem and breakfast was plentiful, fresh and relaxed. The highlight was being asked upon arrival if I would like to use the spring fed hot spa. I am so glad I accepted. I spent over an hour relaxing and reading in the sun looking over a very peaceful scene. As in many areas of Icelend that are a bit isolated compared to my usual lfe, finding somewhere for dinner was a bit of an problem but reasonably easily solved with a cafe/resturant about a 10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berglind M, Public Relations Manager at Guesthouse Dalbaer, responded to this review, 14 June 2015
Thank you for staying with us, always welcome again,

All the best from sunny Iceland

Berglind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here. It is that good. A wonderful house, and the owners are so accommodating and nice. Breakfast was served grand style in hour own dining room. We cooked in the kitchen the night prior and were the only guests in due to late September and off season. There are three rooms on the second floor of this modern style guesthouse, which is adjacent to the owners home. views are stunning on either side. A hot pot at 38 c is always on. The BBQ grill is good as we grilled out dinner from the local store which has a great selection of goods. The owner is a glass artiste and her mother-in-law knits and sells great woolen goods which are in baskets in the guesthouse. A large spacious living room with TV, stereo and full kitchen. This is one of the best places to stay in Iceland. About 45 min from Gullfoss. and maybe 1 1/2 hour to Seljalandsfoss. I will stay two nights next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PicassoPaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berglind M, Public Relations Manager at Guesthouse Dalbaer, responded to this review, 14 June 2015
Thank you for staying with us, always welcome again,

All the best from sunny Iceland

Berglind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fludir
20.5 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
189 reviews
10.8 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guesthouse Fludir
Guesthouse Fludir
#1 of 5 in Fludir
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Fludir
5.4 mi away
Fagrilundur Guesthouse
Fagrilundur Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Reykholt
79 reviews
14.0 mi away
Heradsskolinn Hostel
Heradsskolinn Hostel
#1 of 4 in Laugarvatn
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Dalbaer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Dalbaer

Property: Guesthouse Dalbaer
Address: Dalbaer III, Fludir 845, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Fludir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fludir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Dalbaer 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We run a small bed and breakfast in the Golden Circle in the south of Iceland. After years of running our farm we made a big leap 2004 and changed our home in to a guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Dalbaer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing