We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Fludir
Ranked #2 of 5 Fludir B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely and comfortable.”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Our second night in glorious Iceland took us to this hotel. Don't be fooled by the similarity to an early Butlins holiday camp as you arrive. It's nothing like that. It's a small, 22 roomed, hotel in a likewise small village. It's typically Icelandic, clean, spacious and the staff are all so friendly. A number of the rooms, including ours, have a back door from the shower area out onto the garden where you can relax in a geo thermal powered hot tub whilst the snow melts on your nose. If you're lucky you also get to see the northern lights whilst enjoying your dip. We ate in the hotel restaurant and we were so glad we did. A little like a British farmhouse, there was just one starter and a fish or meat main course. The food was delicious and like our other meals during this trip, beautifully presented. I'd highly recommend this charming hotel.

Room Tip: If you want access to the garden from your room, make sure to ask for a room opening onto the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    145
    69
    14
    6
See reviews for
53
164
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I loved the idea of this place- a bunch of little, cabin-like rooms around a central courtyard with hot-tubs and tables. While we were hoping to see the Aurora while we were there, we did not. Nevertheless, we enjoyed sitting out in the hot-tubs late at night. There are only two tubs, however, so they can get crowded. While this might not be much of an issue, it can be when the others sharing it with you are loud partiers!

The room was fine, if a little dark- the lights aren't very strong and you can't open the curtains without everyone in the courtyard seeing what you're up to.

My biggest complaint with this place was the service. It was kind of remarkable- we felt like we were putting them out by checking in, asking questions, and checking out. We only stayed one day though, so it didn't affect us too much.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phosphora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
167 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I’m not normally a fan of chain hotels – this one is owned by Icelandair – and first impressions are not encouraging. The bar and restaurant are in the reception area so it’s not exactly cosy, and it seems to be used for coach parties so it can get rather busy. But once you reach the bedrooms the appeal increases – they are arranged around a central garden area and from the outside look like rows of beach huts. The impression inside is similar, with a pitched wooden ceiling and really comfortable beds. The garden is reached through a door in the shower room – in our case this was ideal as it snowed and we were able to go outside to play in the snow and come straight back in to the bathroom to take off wet clothes and boots. Baskets of blankets are thoughtfully provided in the corridors for guests who want to sit outside in winter. A pity that no free wifi is provided, though, and there are no hot drink facilities in the bedrooms.

Dinner is served but as usual in Iceland the menu is limited and rather expensive; the elevated position of the restaurant gives a good ambience at night, though. The make-yourself waffles at breakfast were a nice touch but could have done with honey or stewed fruit to go with them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I booked this hotel for its location to visit Gulfoss & the Geysir. The location is outstanding, the rooms are lovely and have the most comfortable beds. When I booked it, I did not realise that there were hot-tubs in a central courtyard, a few steps from a door from the bathroom. We went searching for the Northern Lights and saw the early signs of them. We got back to the room and at about 23:30 went into the hot-tubs, sat back and watched the most amazing Aurora display.

We did not eat there in evening as over £40 for a lamb dish alone was too much for us to pay. However, the breakfast in the morning was very good, made better by the fact that there were only two other guests in the whole hotel - not good for business, but great to not have to queue for food or wait whilst things are replenished.

The breakfast room overlooks the most amazing view of the mountains, something we were not aware of as we arrived when it was dark.

The only thing I would moan about is that Iceland don't seem to do double beds or double quilts. This and other hotels simply push two single beds together to make a double, but you only get two single quilts - not ideal if you like an early morning cuddle under the quilt......

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Of all the hotels we stayed at during our 10 day trip, this was hands down the best one (and it was the most expensive). It's Scandinavian sleek with big rooms and modern bathrooms. The restaurant was also one of our favorite meals of the trip. Lamb and Arctic Char are delicious (though the lamb was outstanding!) The pool courtyard is fun and well designed with wooden furniture and deer skins. It's really just a beautiful and comfortable hotel. It's about 30 minutes from Gullfoss and Geysir if you have your own transportation.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be located around the pool courtyard which can be accessed from a door in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoTvlr0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

One more great stay, in another Icelandair Hotel. This one is conveniently located for the Golden Circle sites. The town itself doesn't have too many amenities, and most things close early during the "low season". But the hotel itself is quite nice!. The front lobby, and attached restaurant area have a modern stylistic feel to it. The room I was staying in was immaculately clean, and had a very retro 60's feel to it. It was definitely furnished differently from the other Icelandair Hotel rooms I have been in, and I quite liked it! There was an outdoor "patio area" for each room... but, strangely, it was accessed by a door that required you to walk through your shower!? Anyways, I would definitely stay here again, and give Icelandair Hotels a thumbs-up for a great chain of lodging.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We were delighted to come to this hotel as our first stop after Reykjavik. The room was large by Icelandic standards. We got used to the inside of hotels being surprising compared to the outside. Our room had a door on to the courtyard where the hot tub was and there was a table also. People took drinks out there. The curtains were good for keeping the room dark. The shower involved the use of the floor mop which is behind the door! The food was good also and there are other eateries in Fludir. Breakfast excellent with the ubiquitous waffle maker.
We explored Guillfoss and surrounds from there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking on the courtyard but book early as always in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fludir
20.4 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
188 reviews
20.8 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
466 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
302 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
318 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Fludir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Fludir

Property: Icelandair Hotel Fludir
Address: Vesturbrun 1, Fludir 845, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Fludir
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fludir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Fludir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Fludir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing