We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is a disaster.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icelandair Hotel Fludir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Fludir
Ranked #2 of 4 Fludir B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It is a disaster.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I went there with a group of colleagues for a company business trip and I hope I will never ever have to visit this place again. The rooms were spotlessly clean but half of the things inside were broken (I could not charge my phone 'cause of the broken plug and turn on the main light, because the switch was missing) After even a quick shower the bathroom is always full of water which you are supposed to clean yourself with a sponge mop that's behing the bathroom door. The food is of really low quality comparing to the sky-high price. We could feel the smell of cigarette smoke from behind the kitchen door which also turned our apetites down. During the dinner one of the waiters, he was also checking us out the next morning, smelled of alcohol and sweat making the food taste even worse. The breakfast was plain without anything warm like eggs or sausages. Although the hotel manager farewelled us with a smile when I turned around to ask about some nice place to go, I saw her making faces to our backs. That was very unprofessional and childish, not to say worse. That was a very bad stay, a waste of money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dagmar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    138
    67
    14
    6
See reviews for
47
159
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

the basics are there: clean, comfortable, convenient. but you can tell it has been full of tourists on packaged tours: no love, no soul.
It's supposed to be a good location for northern light hunting, but there are light pollutions all around and the night we stayed there was the only night where we didn't see northern light on our trip.
We looked forward to watching the northern light from the hot tubs. but it was not hot and no guest used it for the whole night.
Food in the restaurant, for it's price, was only average.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jingwen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed for one night whilst driving around Iceland. Easy to find, service was ok, hot tub was only warm, rooms are pretty average but clean. Dinner was the highlight, very high standard of cooking and a decent breakfast also. In all a decent enough stopover in the area and memorable for the dinner.

Room Tip: Have dinner here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We were staying near Fludir in self catering accommodation but came for a meal in the Icelandair Hotel restaurant. The food was fantastic - a really varied and very tasty menu. The desserts were also incredible - highly recommend the chocolate creme brulee! Great quality food and the service was exceptional. Quite reasonably priced as well. If you are in the area it is definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annajane_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed here on our second night of the Golden Circle tour. We arrived and were given our rooms almost straight away. The staff were friendly but quiet. The hotel was warm and cosy, the room was clean, the bathroom was functional but nothing special, however, the door led to a new garden area with 2 hot tubs which we took full advantage of as soon as we unpacked. The hotel supply warm woollen blankets so you can sit in the garden, and watch the Northern Lights (we heard this is the best spot, unfortunately we weren't lucky enough to see them during our trip as we experienced all types of weather, mainly rain!) We ate at the hotel, for both dinner and breakfast and the food was very nice, (especially the chicken wraps) with very quick service. The price of the food seemed expensive, but very good quality, however this seems to be the same throughout Iceland. The hotel is also a short driving distance to a lot of the sights. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This Hotel was very cosy and small. It has hot tubs outside your door. We really loved it.It has a shop over the road and is near all the golden circle sites and other great sites. It has a small restaurant too. It doesn't have many rooms and they are all on one floor with a courtyard in the middle with hot tubs. It was very quiet and peaceful. We would definately go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightwing12Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

This hotel, owned by Icelandair is around a 2hr drive from Rekyjavik, via Sellfoss.

We arrived at around 2pm, and were given our rooms straight away.
The bedroom is in front of a central garden area, with 2 hot tubs and a seating area. They provide warm blankets to sit in and watch for the Northern Lights (you'll need them!). The beds are two, separate mattresses pushed together, with two separate duvets as well. The room was spotlessly clean, with laminate flooring, and the shower was nice and hot and powerful. In order to go outside to the garden and hot tub area, you'll need to walk through the bathroom. It's sounds a bit weird, but you'll understand why when you get here!

The hot tubs are amazing, and we were lucky enough to have them too ourselves for the two day we were there. We were also lucky enough to see the Northern Lights while we were here :)
It is a small hotel, but the staff are really friendly, and the food in the restaurant is amazing, its a bit expensive, but for food of this quality, you really don't mind. I had lamb steaks, and they were cooked to perfection. The main courses ranged from 2195-4500 Isk,

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fludir
22.7 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
12.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.1 mi away
Guesthouse Fludir
Guesthouse Fludir
#1 of 4 in Fludir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Fludir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Fludir

Property: Icelandair Hotel Fludir
Address: Vesturbrun 1, Fludir 845, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Fludir
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fludir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Fludir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Fludir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing