We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place & friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Fludir
Ranked #2 of 4 Fludir B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place & friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night Aug 2013 as part of a tour, friendly & helpful staff, food was good, rooms clean and great facing onto garden area with hot tubs, lovely at night with us and our 8 & 12 year olds in 'hotpots' no jets but just lovely hot geothermal water to relax in....
Def would love to stay here again.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    141
    67
    14
    6
See reviews for
50
161
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

In reviewing Icelandic Hotels and Guest Houses you MUST understand that Hotel/ Tourism outside a 100 kms radius of Reykjavik is in its infancy SO DON,T expect 4X Hotels they do not exist.This Hotel wa our first Hotel after flying into Keflavik. It was very welcoming , clean spacious and airy easy to find. Reflects a Germanic character of basic and simple furniture.
Warning Drinks prices are EXPENSIVE Spring 2013 1litre local beer 1000 Kr /small glass wine
same price. These prices appear to be country wide.24 hour daylight makes up for it

Room Tip: Hotel all on ground floor facing on to a rather Sparta central court yard with large rocks heavy ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Hotel Fludir was a decent Hotel to stop over for the night but I wouldn't recommend it as a place to spend more than 1 night. The lobby/restaurant area are new and clean however our room was very dated. It looked about 20 years old and in need of a serious upgrade. Also it was not exceptionally clean. The hotel has a couple of hot tubs in the courtyard which were nice. The hotel restaurant was pretty much the only option in town as it is in a very small town. The food was expensive as I would expect for iceland but the quality was not very good when compared to the other Icelandair hotels we stayed at. Overall if you are just stopping in Fludir for the night it is an acceptable hotel but there is also not many other options. WIFI is free only in the lobby.

Room Tip: Not many options. I believe all the rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwdofde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

There's not a lot of choice for accommodation in Fludir - but that doesn't mean that you are going to be disappointed staying here!

The room was very clean and although not massive, it was very well laid out, making good use of space. The double bed however was actually two twins pushed together - but this seems common place in Iceland. It didn't detract from a good nights sleep though.

All rooms are based round an internal courtyard area which houses a couple of hot tubs (although they were a bit 'luke warm' and didn't have any jets)

Breakfast was self service with a good choice of meats, cheeses, breads, delicious yoghurts etc. and the option to use a waffle maker.

Only slight downside is that free wi-fi is only available in the public area around the reception. If you want to use it in your room, there is a (albeit small) charge.

It's not a big hotel, so doesn't feel too much like a chain (which actually, it is!) it has great views from the dining area.

It's a good base for the Golden Circle area - being within 30 mins of Gulfoss.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
358 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We spent a pleasant night at this hotel. Not an elegant place, but with spacious comfortable rooms that are nicely appointed. The town of Fludir is very small, so it was nice to have this place available in the region. We'd heard good things about the hotel's restaurant and were not disappointed. The food was truly excellent! Service was polite and adequate -- nothing warm and friendly but you rarely get that in Iceland. A recommended place if you're considering staying in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front of the hotel might be able to reach the wifi that's available in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here as it is billed as a perfect hotel to see the Northern Lights and we did indeed see some. However, it is in a little village and so at night there is still quite a bit of light. It is very thoughtfully built though, with huge plate glass windows in the dining room making viewing the sky very easy, plus the staff are very accommodating to people wondering away from their tables to go outside and see the lights, bashing bits of camera equipment around the hallways and generally causing chaos with the staff happily going about their business. Also, if the lights happen at night they do call round each room to wake you up.

The hotel itself is clean, funcational, a string of chalets around a pebble garden with two hot tubs. The rooms are wood, feel very Icelandic with wet rooms rather than bathrooms, no bathtubs. The food was lovely, which is lucky as there isn't anywhere else nearby for a drink/dinner.

The location is great if you are touring the golden circle, at the far flung edge of the route and near to the spas and sights of the circle.

My tip for the Northern Lights would be though to stay sober and when called, jump in the car, a 10 min drive and you'll be out in the country with no other lights.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Traveling with a group the location seemed good, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Our dinner was good although had to ask what we were being served as the waitstaff didn't tell us. Don't go here for friendly staff, unless you talk to the overnight security person, no one seems to be to helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fludir
20.4 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
20.8 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guesthouse Fludir
Guesthouse Fludir
#1 of 4 in Fludir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Fludir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Fludir

Property: Icelandair Hotel Fludir
Address: Vesturbrun 1, Fludir 845, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Fludir
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fludir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Fludir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Fludir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing