We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical northern lights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Fludir
Ranked #4 of 5 Fludir B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2014

What a wonderful hotel: clean, warm, friendly Icelandic welcome. Peace and quiet and watching the northern lights in a hot tub whilst enjoying a glass of wine, who could want for more? Easy to find, well located on Golden Circle route of attractions in SW Iceland.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dthompson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Icelandair Hotel Fludir
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a little town, one other restaurant in town and that was Ethiopian. Only four choices on hotel menu and breakfast was also a limited selection but enough of it to satisfy hunger. WiFi only in lounge, hot tub inviting but high wind and freezing cold stopped us. Great location for Golden circle.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter0101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A nice hotel with single storey terraced rooms that each has front as well as rear door access to patio tables and chairs, which I imagine would be great for the long summer days. We stayed here for one night in wintertime as part of Iceland Travel's 5 nights 'Hidden Powers & Northern Lights' tour, and it was here on the north facing restaurant patio where we enjoyed our only sighting of the aurora. So I will always have a fond memory of this hotel.
The food was pretty good, though beware typically already well salted (as tends to be the case in this country it seems, and beware in Iceland salt and pepper pots are often used the other way round, so you could end up further over salting).
Wifi is free in the lobby only.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustfulJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A well located and comfortable hotel near in the rift areas of southern Iceland. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed.
There is a mini supermarket and petrol station just over the road, and the in-house hot tubs were a nice touch for a late night gaze at the stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We spent the last 2 nights of a week to Iceland in the Icelandair Fluðir. It was eerily quiet during our stay, probably due to it being low season. The upside of this was having the hot pots to ourselves in the evenings when it was freezing cold outside, what a treat! The rooms were tidy, clean and comfortable with large comfy beds which gave us a great night's sleep. I liked how the rooms are arranged like little chalets around the neat rocky, garden and, of course, the magical hot pots. The staff were polite but seemed a little distracted but we had no issues. We ate in the restaurant on our first night, the food was ok but for the price I would have expected something with a little more wow factor- fish (albeit well-cooked and moist) and chips (your standard mass produced french fries) for 2, 2 desserts and 2 beers over 60 GBP! But by now it was not such a big shock because we had learnt that food in Iceland is generally expensive. Breakfast was great in my opinion- plenty of choice: cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, cold meats, breads, eggs etc. Plus you could make you own fresh waffles! The flower essences you could add to your water were a clever touch too. The hotel is a drive from anywhere but that's fine if you just want to relax after a day out and about like we did. There was not much open in Fluðir itself in the evening after about 6pm, which I put down to the season. Overall I would say it's a good base for Golden Circle if you prefer to be away from everything and I cannot fault the hotel's comfort and cleanliness. It is possible to see the aurora from here (from the comfort of the hot pot in fact) as we were lucky enough to experience this on our last night in the hotel (and in Iceland).

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Welcoming staff, great room, delicious food and some awesome hot tubs. All in all a great stay. Not the best hotel for the northern lights as Fludir has lots of light from the town in it, but a short drive into the hills and you see them perfectly. Best place to stay near Geysir in the Golden Circle IMO. Wouldn't want to stay here for more than a couple of nights as not a huge amount to do in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I checked in to this place for 4 nights as I wanted to explore the local area. From the time I received my unwelcoming check-in until the day I left, the managers couldn't even manage as much as a smile or even a simple hello. They either didn't seem happy to be there or just thought they were some sort of superior beings. Either way the hospitality was disgraceful and they should hang their heads in shame! If you don't like people, why are managing a hotel?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fludir
20.8 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
518 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
220 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,640 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guesthouse Fludir
Guesthouse Fludir
#1 of 5 in Fludir
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Fludir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Fludir

Address: Vesturbrun 1, Fludir 845, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Fludir
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fludir
Price Range: £96 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Fludir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Fludir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing