We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Fludir
Ranked #3 of 5 Fludir B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have stayed here a few times and are never disappointed.

The hotel is in a quite town and is in a good location for a stop over if you are doing the golden circle or wish to continue along the south coast. If you are looking for a romantic place to watch the aurora this hotel is ideal. This is the only place where I have managed to see the aurora having been in Iceland numerous times for several weeks!

There is a central garden with two hot tubs, which is accessible through some of the rooms (i think its all the double rooms) or through main doors near reception. The rooms are lovely, spacious and tasteful and the food in the hotel restaurant was delicious. They use a lot of local products and know exactly how to cook them.

The staff were fantastic. A member of our party had a medical emergency while we were there and I cannot thank all the staff enough for everything they did for us. They were incredibly supportive and really helped to keep us all calm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days as part of a self-drive tour around Iceland. It is conveniently located for travelling to the Golden Circle.

The hotel is pleasantly decorated and is kept very clean. The beds are actually two singles pushed together. The rooms surround a central area where the hot tubs are. The hot tubs are great and a real treat at the end of a hard day.

Because of the hot tubs the bathrooms have a door that leads to the outside. The water from the shower is not contained and so it all spills into the rest of the room. There is a brush in the bathroom to move the water back towards the showers. I can see why its been designed by this, but it can get slippery and is not ideal if you're wearing boots.

The food was good, but it was the most expensive meal that we had while we were in Iceland - 11,000 krona for main, soft drinks and dessert. It was very nice - I had some beautifully flavoured cod.

We did have a problem on the Sunday when we returned from a day trip and the restaurant was closed. I think it shuts at half 8. Thankfully there was a restaurant over the road which was open - and it was a good thing too as there is precious little else open nearby.

Overall we had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The cost of food was a negative but I don't think this was much more expensive than elsewhere in Iceland, and it was good quality. The staff were friendly, although their English wasn't as good as elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardner_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is very cozy and friendly, and the two outdoor hit tubs are a must. We did it in the snow and had a snowball fight from the comfort of our warring tubs. The breakfast was good and the rooms are good sized and quiet and comfortable. My only complaint is that Fludir is really quiet. Maybe there are things to do there in the summer but in the winter everything touristic seems to be 30 minutes or more away.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank mitchenerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

What a wonderful hotel: clean, warm, friendly Icelandic welcome. Peace and quiet and watching the northern lights in a hot tub whilst enjoying a glass of wine, who could want for more? Easy to find, well located on Golden Circle route of attractions in SW Iceland.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dthompson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a little town, one other restaurant in town and that was Ethiopian. Only four choices on hotel menu and breakfast was also a limited selection but enough of it to satisfy hunger. WiFi only in lounge, hot tub inviting but high wind and freezing cold stopped us. Great location for Golden circle.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter0101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A nice hotel with single storey terraced rooms that each has front as well as rear door access to patio tables and chairs, which I imagine would be great for the long summer days. We stayed here for one night in wintertime as part of Iceland Travel's 5 nights 'Hidden Powers & Northern Lights' tour, and it was here on the north facing restaurant patio where we enjoyed our only sighting of the aurora. So I will always have a fond memory of this hotel.
The food was pretty good, though beware typically already well salted (as tends to be the case in this country it seems, and beware in Iceland salt and pepper pots are often used the other way round, so you could end up further over salting).
Wifi is free in the lobby only.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustfulJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A well located and comfortable hotel near in the rift areas of southern Iceland. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed.
There is a mini supermarket and petrol station just over the road, and the in-house hot tubs were a nice touch for a late night gaze at the stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fludir
20.8 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
545 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
237 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,683 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
311 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Fludir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Fludir

Address: Vesturbrun 1, Fludir 845, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Fludir
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fludir
Price Range: £91 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Fludir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Fludir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing