We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm welcome in a lovely home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guesthouse Borg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Borg
Ranked #3 of 7 Grindavik B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“warm welcome in a lovely home”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed even though the owners were out (with a personalised note left on the door for us explaining which room was ours etc). The room was spacious with two single beds pushed together, two armchairs, a desk and plenty of space for bags and moving around. The bathroom is shared but was very clean. The kitchen was very well equipped with many items such as milk and butter already in the fridge. The beds were really comfortable and towels and bedding was provided. Hairdryer was also available if you needed it, and there are facilities to do some clothes washing should you need to. Wifi connection included and of a good speed too. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JD2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    25
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
29
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Storås
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Cheap, friendly and practical, this guesthouse is a compulsory start and finish to our Iceland trips. We are going here for the third time in October 2013. We are a group of four adults and four children - we got an offer for around 350 EUR for three nights! The location is very practical - rather close to Keflavik airport and even closer to the Blue Lagoon. The guest house offers clean, spacious rooms, a nice living room and a kitchen with a self-service breakfast buffet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Torkild35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at Guesthouse Borg for the last night of our one-week trip to Iceland. All the other hotels in the area of the Blue Lagoon were fully booked, and the reviews for this guesthouse made it sound okay. It was not.
We were greeted by a strange, silent young man who pointed us to our rooms and then disappeared; a note from the owner left on one of the beds explained that she had been called out of town and her son would "show us around," which he never did. Her note did explain the breakfast arrangement and also indicated that she had already charged our rooms to my account; the receipt was attached. We never saw the son again - one of our rooms lacked a key, but my husband found one hanging on the bsement steps, so we took it so we could lock our room. The whole setup just felt sketchy and unsavoury.
The rooms were shabbily though adequately furnished and the beds were less than comfortable. The linens are old and rough and need to be replaced. The bathroom, shared by 4 rooms, was small and the shower was located in a utility room and looked like something from a Caravan trailer. We did not use it. The whole place smelled of perfumed room deodorants and fabric softeners - very unpleasant.
Worst of all, contruction was going on all around the house - some kind of pounding project involving a large crew of workmen and heavy machinery that woke us up shortly after 7 a.m.
The fact that this construction project was never explained when we made the reservation is inexcusable - no wonder the proprietor made herself scarce.
Had there been any hope of staying elsewhere, we would have. As it was, we spent as little time as possible there, leaving - without breakfast - by 7:30 a.m.
One other thing - there was another guest who kept us awake until nearly 2 a.m. by talking loudly on his cell phone - an argument with a girl firend or someone he owed money to? - but it didn't feel safe going out to confront him. With no manager on the premises, it felt wiser to stay locked in the room.
I cannot possibly recommend that anyone ever stay at Guesthouse Borg.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleClaudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Overall the lady who owns the place is very helpful!!!the house itself has a cosy but a bit shaby charme. The bathrooms need a renovation. The room we stayed was small but it was sufficient for one night. I disagree to previous reviews labeling this place as the best one in Iceland, because there are definitely better ones available. In general it is Ok to stay there...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelBzh, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I did not stay at the guest house at it was fully booked when I turned up without a booking. However the lady of the house kindly phone another place for me to make sure I had a room for the night. This was so nice of here. Should I go back to Grindavik, I will ensure I book that place and nowhere else

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NelBzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night at Guesthouse Borg after our original reservation fell through and we are very thankful it did because this was the best Guestouse we stayed at in Iceland! Very clean and homey feel to it. Great to be able to get up in the morning and have a cup of coffee and breakfast before heading out for the days adventures. Very continently located to the Blue Lagoon. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband and I arrived in Iceland on an early morning flight. It was dark and snowy. Fortunately, we had booked two nights at Guesthouse Borg, which is only a few miles away from the Blue Lagoon and easy to find from the Keflavik airport. Our host graciously allowed us to check in when we arrived at 8 a.m. Our room was VERY comfortable and spotless and the kitchen, with breakfast provided, was a godsend. Add in the comfort of the livingroom and you feel like you are in your own home. Grindavik is a sweet little fishing town with a wonderful museum on the saltfish industry. We also found an excellent coffeehouse next to the fishing fleet. We highly recommend the guesthouse and town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatWA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
0.2 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
237 reviews
2.8 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
930 reviews
10.1 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mar Guesthouse
Mar Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Grindavik
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anita's Guest House
Anita's Guest House
#2 of 7 in Grindavik
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Borg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Borg

Property: Guesthouse Borg
Address: Borgarhraun 2, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Grindavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 5 double rooms and 2 single rooms with made up beds and 1 of my rooms is perfect for a family up to 5 persons, Guesthouse Borg is also perfect for mini groups up to 16 persons. We have a sitting room where you can read or watch television, internet access, washing machine, baby bed,a fully equip't kitchen and a breakfast bar that is included in the price. We provide a friendly service to make your stay comfortable and memorable, we are looking forward to see you so welcome to Guesthouse Borg we are open all year winter, spring, summer, or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Borg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Borg Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing