We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad!”
Review of Blue Lagoon

Blue Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$130.47*
and up
Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik
More Info
US$268.05*
and up
Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik
More Info
US$263.31*
and up
Whale Watching Cruise and Blue Lagoon Spa Combination Tour from Reykjavik
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This geothermal lagoon has a comfortable temperature averaging 104 degrees Fahrenheit (40C) with mineral-rich waters rumored to have curative powers.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not too bad!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We visited the place last Sep. When we arrived, it was 90 mins before its closure time. It was lovely to walk from the car park to the pool with some black stones by the road to the entrance. The admission was a bit expensive and they charged extra for a towel. What amazed me actually was their wristband stuff. We used that to open the lockers, ordered the drinks at the bar in the pool and paid upon leaving. It was a huge pool. They also offered water spa, very NICE! The only thing was that the water temperature was not warm enough. As a hot spring goer, I didn't think it was as they claimed 40 degrees. So we had to stay very close to where the water came out to keep us warm. Generally speaking, it is still quite a romantic and lovely place to visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Serena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,103
    3,323
    1,184
    376
    239
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of Iceland's 'must do' attractions”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The Blue Lagoon is heavily publicised and frankly we went expecting to be disappointed. However, we left happy, relaxed and satisfied that it measured up to the hype.
Where else can you bathe in hot sea water when the air temperature is at or below freezing?
We visited in mid February on a lovely sunny day and it wasn't crowded - might be a bit different in the high season. We took an organised tour from Reykjavik which included admission and towel hire. Bring your own bathing costume. The changing facilities are very clean and well organised, you can stay in as long as you like and there are a variety of options once you are in the pool including a steam cave and a sauna. Massages are extra and performed actually in the pool. For those who can't go for long without a drink, there is a poolside bar with a variety of drinks.
Once you have had enough of the pool iteself there is a cafe and a restaurant on site, a viewing gallery and of course a retail area selling Blue Lagoon beauty products and other Icelandic goodies.
The clientele included all ages and, as rather less than shapely 70 somethings, we had worried that we'd feel intimidated by the presence of lots of beautiful people. We needn't have worried. The Blue Lagoon caters for all.
Try it; we think you'll be won over. It's not cheap but it's good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank invicta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very relaxing and chilled”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Took a bit longer than i thought to travel here from Reykjavik, however this was made very easy by the blue lagoon tour bus which picked us up from outside our hotel. We arrived after a 45 minute or so journey, as we made our way in we were surrounded by the blue lagoons water and lots of rocks, very pretty! the water looked very milky and blue, nothing ive ever seen in England! Changing rooms were a bit complicated but soon worked it out got changed and headed in to the pool, had to run the 3 metres or so in a bikini in freezing conditions however when i entered the pool i was really suprised at how warm it was, the water felt very soft and soothing and it wasnt very busy there at all! around the pool are buckets of mud to slap on your face...i decided to do without! beautiful views of the mountains and lovely rocks and at one point we even had a rainbow :) very relaxing and a brilliant way to spend the afternoon. ( Although stay away if you dont like the smell of eggs!)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chloe h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing but expensive and crowded”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have to say that the experience by itself is very relaxing, being outside in a milky blue warm water, spreading some mask on your face, swimming or sitting around in an icelandic icon, you kind of understand the hype... The only reason I rated 3 is because when you're out of the water it's a pretty stressful experience ( maybe that's one of the reasons why it's so relaxing once you're in... ) We bought our ticket in advance so we got our bracelet pretty quickly but to get a towel you had to go to the bar first which is at the other end of the way after the showers, then go back to take it. It's pretty crowded which is understandable as a very touristic attraction but it doesn't leave you much space to get changed or take a shower ( for the self conscious, only a few have doors ) so you wait and wait. then you think you don't have much time because like everybody else you decided to do it before going back to the airport so you spend half an hour in the water before it's time to go back to the shower, dry, pay for what you spent and catch your bus that leaves right on time. It is expensive if like us you just spend a few minutes in the water but I guess it's the price to pay for a place no one wants to miss.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GuidaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great relaxing way to spend the afternoon”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Just returned from a fantastic trip to Iceland, in which we spent one afternoon in the Blue Lagoon.

We arrived at shortly after 1 in the afternoon and spent three hours in the lagoon and the acoompanying steams romms etc. Whilst a first i thought the entrance cost of 33euros was a bit on the steep side you soon realise this is well worth it. Changing rooms and facilities were excellent and the lagoon was spotless and thoroughly relaxing. We left at 4 and would have thought for most please this would be adeqaute.

Anyone going to Iceland should definitely put this on their to do list.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mirams27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Lagoon also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing