We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stop after landing in Reykjavik” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lagoon

Blue Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$108.80*
and up
Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This geothermal lagoon has a comfortable temperature averaging 104 degrees Fahrenheit (40C) with mineral-rich waters rumored to have curative powers.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect stop after landing in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We landed in Reykjavik after an overnight flight from JFK and headed straight for the Blue Lagoon. If you are only in Iceland for a few days (or even a week), the location of the Blue Lagoon relative to the airport (40 minute drive) is very convenient so it is a perfect place to spend a few hours after arriving, particularly if you came in off of an overnight flight and it is too early to check in to your hotel.

If you go to the website for the Blue Lagoon you will see that they try and sell you on a bunch of different entrance packages. We just did the standard entry and paid an extra $5 euro to rent a towel. All the add ones for mask scrubs and skin care didn't seem very necessary given there were buckets of the facial mud throughout the lagoon that you could use for free. The towel (and maybe a bathrobe) are good add-ons, but everything else seemed a bit unnecessary, and food and drinks can all be purchased a la carte.

There was no line when we arrived so booking online in advance wasn't really necessary for us (although it does save a few dollars), but when we left there was actually a long enough line that would warrant pre-purchasing your tickets given you have a separate expedited line.

The Lagoon itself was beautiful, romantic, and the perfect spot to rejuvenate after an overnight flight. We spent roughly 2 hours there, got showered, and drove into Reyjkavik (45 minutes or so) to get checked into our hotel. Given the location of the Blue Lagoon it didn't geographically fit into any of our other day trips, so doing in conjunction with your flight arrival is the best idea.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank laxslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,648
    3,072
    1,106
    340
    215
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived at the Blue Lagoon at noon on a Friday, and it wasn't crowded. We purchased our tickets on-line and booked with Iceland Tours to take us there and back from our hotel. They were punctual with pick-up times.
It was a great experience to soak and swim in the warm geothermal waters in the middle of a lava field!
Some reviews have mentioned an uneven bottom in the pool. When you enter from the stairs, step cautiously to your left. There are a few uneven areas, but shortly as you inch your way forward you will feel sand under your feet and then the bottom is even the rest of the way.
For those who are uncomfortable showering or undressing in front of others, the ladies change room has private areas where you can do both.
We brought our own towels rather than paying for towels at the Lagoon.
Arriving at 12 and leaving at 3 also left us time to walk around the beautiful surroundings.
I highly recommend including the Blue Lagoon on a list of things to do in Iceland.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlobelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hope your not shy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The blue lagoon is a great experience and everyone in our party really enjoyed it. Yes it's expensive, yes people probably get up to all sorts in the water (no worse than a jacuzzi!) But it's defiantly worth a try just a note of caution there is one changing cubicle available and a lot of nakedness!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kanethereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced but Still a Neat Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

It can get crowded, we had excellent luck going on a Wednesday around 6:00pm. I have also heard early in the morning is a good option to avoid it being too busy. If you have a flight give yourself plenty of time just in case it's packed and there are lines. The minerals in the Blue Lagoon are amazing for your skin-but not your hair. Put loads of conditioner in your hair, put it up and try your best not to let it touch the water.Different sections of the immense Blue Lagoon are hotter than others so spend some time walking around to find the temperature that suits you best!
Don't bother spending money on a mud mask, you can just get the mud from the Blue Lagoon and apply one yourself! Pack some water and a towel-otherwise they will overcharge you for them there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
“Blue Lagoon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Don't go to this attraction straight from the airport unless you are very fit. We are in our 70s but pretty fit. However we found having to pull our cases from bus to blue lagoon too much for us. Also it was very busy, we had to queue for ages. The procedure as to lockers and getting about , was really too much of a hassle for us. By the time we got to the pool area we had had enough. Very expensive for what we got out of it. All right if you are a teenager travelling light but not for older people.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank peacockGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Lagoon also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing