We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Lagoon

Blue Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.47*
and up
Blue Lagoon Spa with Roundtrip Transport from Reykjavik
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This geothermal lagoon has a comfortable temperature averaging 104 degrees Fahrenheit (40C) with mineral-rich waters rumored to have curative powers.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brillant Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I came here straight after landing in Iceland and what a way it was to start the week. Brilliant experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TMSB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,792
    3,145
    1,132
    346
    221
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Worth one visit to experience the most visited tourist attraction of Island. The owners of this facility have marketed the place very well and turned it in to a popularized, crowd pulling, money making gimmick, that charges you 40 Euros for a soak in the hot water pool. The place is very efficiently managed. We reached there at 9 AM, just as it opened and there were hardly 10-12 people. We had our own towels, and the temperature in July was warm enough so we did not need any robes. As there were very few people we had the lockers and shower rooms to ourselves. There are plenty of shower stalls, so if you are a modest person, there is nothing to worry about. However when it gets crowded, you may have to wait in order to get a shower stall. The lagoon is not deep at all. Maximum depth is about 5 feet. It was pretty clean (at least to look at), and we did not see any hair clumps as reported in so many of the reviews. The water is not that hot. When the crowds start to build up around 10 -11. They frequently pump more hot water in the lagoon. The pumps are on the far side, and if you are in that area the water feels warm enough. The electronic wrist strap system works very well and is easy to follow. When the crowds swell, the staff starts to regulate entrances to lockers and shower areas (there are three each both for men and women) and direct people to less crowded sections. They need to learn to do that with a smile on their faces.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank arvid59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely but be ready to pay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We went for the afternoon. It was really nice. A bit busy and like a swimming pool by the steps but if you move to tha back it is great as you can look out at the view and sit by the rocks. As it is expensive ( but all is in Iceland) you need to spend a while there to get your money's worth which we did.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Good.. but..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Overall a good experience, we booked the premium package including robes, towel and a free drink. Not sure it was worth 62 Euros.. the lagoon itself was ok and a good experience, we were there early 9.30 am, by the time we left around midday it was very crowded, with a line waiting to get in.
To get out you have to scan your bracelet and enter it into a machine, however on the premium pack you have to go to reception first as they read and reset the bracelet! there are no instructions to this affect, and no personell manning the exit. very confusing for all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuribob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

No trip to Iceland can be complete without a visit to the Blue Lagoon. After seeing many photos online and via friends, I knew I had to make a trip out here. Everything went very smoothly and all services were efficient and automated. We came in July and the place was pretty crowded but since the lagoon is quite big, you'll find a space for yourself to relax and enjoy the beautiful lagoon. The massages are expensive and relatively short. Be sure to book in advance if you do feel like getting a massage. You can easily catch a bus to the lagoon from Reykjavik or from the Airport. For more info you can contact the local tourist information center.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Lagoon also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing