We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lobster soup, nice coffee, relaxing environment and reasonable price!”
Review of Bryggjan

Bryggjan
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Http://www.visitgrindavik.is/visit.jsp?a=list&t=matur&lang=en
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent lobster soup, nice coffee, relaxing environment and reasonable price!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We visited this restaurant based on its good TA reviews and comments, and they turned out to be honest and true. The lobster soup was one of the best when you take the price and portion into consideration, and it served with bread and coffee as well. Nice and friendly owner. It is worthy to note that the restaurant opens all year round, even in Winter, so if you happen to visit Grindavik in Winter time don't forget to pop in and grab a hot bowl of lobster soup!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    141
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for a coffee”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Located just at the waterfront of Grindavik this small café is certainly well worth a visit.
Lovely atmosphere, great, friendly staff and fantastic coffee. The bread with salmon and egg is also fantastic, as is the chocolate cake.
The café is decorated with seafaring memorabilia and the odd John Lennon in between.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glaesmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, engaging owner, John Lennon fan”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stumbled across this place by accident in the driving rain. Very welcoming, attentive and friendly owner who engages his customers in detailed recommendations for the area.

We had the lobster soup and a local pancake/bean speciality, both delicious. Was very tempted by the caramel meringue but had no room after the pancake.

Noticed the big picture of John Lennon and the owner noted it was the biggest picture in his place. He told us a great story of a local Beatles fan club - ask him about the 'Backstabbing Beatles'...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WPSesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lobster soup to die for!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

On the strength of the Tripadvisor No 1 rating, we went here - with some difficulty - the street shown in the Tripadvisor page is not the same as on Google Maps, I think a casualty of the strange way Icelandic words are declined - but just go down to the wharf and you'll find it amongst the drying nets.

It's a small space, with only a few tables. We were fairly late, and asked were they still serving dinner? Yes, said the owner, it's lobster soup, sit down, I'll put some more lobster in and let you know when it's ready!

That's it. No menu. No choice. But believe me, you don't want any choice. This is the most sublime meal you will ever experience. Just bread and lobster soup. Aaaaaaaaaaghh!!! Heaven in a bowl.

If I could fly back to Iceland for just a few hours, I'd do it just to go back to Grindavik for Bryggjan's lobster soup. If you have a chance to go there, do so!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton Upon-Trent
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stumbled across this small harbourside cafe when our whale watching trip was moved to sail from Grindavik because of bad weather. Whilst the cafe was not quite open, we were allowed into use the facilities and have coffee. It was so good and the atmosphere and locals so friendly that we returned after our whale watching and had an excellent lunch - lobster soup - fabulous. Cakes looked good too and it was nice to see them delivered and all home made.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bryggjan also viewed

Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Grindavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 

Been to Bryggjan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing