We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first night”
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great first night”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here after a late flight from London. We were met at the airport and driven out to the hotel about 15mins. Our driver was friendly and told us about the places we drove past. The Geo thermal plant right next door to the hotel gave off an eerie glow which added to the sense of adventure. Although after midnight when we we arrived it was a warm welcome . There were hot drinks available in the lounge area, our host went onto the internet to look up the aurora forecast, they had come early on our arrival night! He also showed us a way to Rekjavik the next day that would take us past the hot springs and a lake. We slept soundly and had a lovely breakfast before heading off on our adventure. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    332
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
185
520
56
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely hotel which is set in a stunning landscape away from the light pollution of Reykjavik. The dining room and bedrooms are very simple, while the various spacious lounges are homely and cosy. The service throughout the hotel is excellent; nothing seems to be too much trouble and the complimentary shuttle services to and from the Blue Lagoon and Keflavik airport are great. We were also offered free transport to the local fishing village of Grindavik. We sampled a lunch, dinner and breakfast while staying and every meal, from the buffet breakfasts to the locally-sourced monkfish with a sweet chilli sauce and lamb dish, was beautiful. The facility for guests to be woken after midnight is perfect and allowed us to see the Northern Lights for the second time during our stay. Thank you to everyone at the inn. We will definitely be back for future visits.

Room Tip: Don't be put off if your room faces the power plant - its a fascinating place, especially in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel to stay at. Rooms are very clean, modern and spaceous.

Food in the restaurant is good and not too pricy.

It's very close to the Blue Lagoon but walking between the two isn't a direct route so be warned. However the hotel does run an hourly shuttle service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, in an attempt to stay out of Reykjavik and avoid the light pollution in order to see the Northern lights.

The hotel is absolutely immaculate, nice & simple decor and is very clean.

We ate in the restaurant every night and every meal was lovely.

We met a waiter and waitress, Sylvia & Ronald, they were happy to talk to us every time we saw them about the food (obviously a passion) and about Iceland, where to go & what to see. They made us feel very welcome, thank you!

Nothing was too much trouble and we would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and would love to go back.

I went with my boyfriend and came home with my fiancé!

Room Tip: High number the better as further away from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondies7_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Date of travel Jan 31 to 3rd Feb

First time going to Iceland amazing people and very friendly.

Got picked up at the airport by a member off and where driven to the hotel what amazing view as we went there, arrived at the hotel and did it did not seem like hotel, as you walk thru the doors it was very homely.
The rooms why just great, the breakfast was amazing and the staff even more amazing..

If you do wonna see the stars its the best place i have seen them from so far and seeing the aurora was pretty amazing to..

Many thanks Northern Light Inn staff for everything.

DB

Room Tip: No second floor just a obs floor so you see the aurora or stars at night with the lights out or duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnb1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here for the first night of our 'Discover the World' Northern Lights and Volcano Tour. Forget the approach to the hotel, once inside this is a very good hotel. The public rooms were cosy and well decorated and the bedrooms are ample with a good shower and tea and coffee on hand. By far the best feature is the quality of the food in the restaurant which was exceptional.
The staff were very attentive and friendly and our trip to the blue lagoon was not to be missed.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_H503775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for our last night after spending a few nights in Reykjavik. It was perfect way to end our holiday. The rooms themselves are very clean, spacious, and very warm for those cold nights. There is complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate by the reception. There is also free wifi. Dinner at the hotel was delicious. We had the Sunday Roast three course meal.

The hotel is only a couple minutes drive away from the Blue Lagoon with a free shuttle bus leaving the hotel every hour. The hotel provides towels for you to bring to the Blue Lagoon so you can avoid renting a towel over there. They also provides transport to the airport for when you're checking out at no cost.

We went on the Northern Light tour offered by the hotel (9500 ISK), and had an amazing time. We were very lucky to see it, as it was the only active night during our stay in Iceland. The tour guide (Malcolm) was very knowledgable and enthusiastic, which made the trip more exciting. He even helped me set up my DSLR camera settings (which I had no idea about), and even provided tripods for me and my friends so we can capture it perfectly. Thank you Malcolm.

The staff members are helpful, friendly but noticeably honest. I accidentally left my watch and blackberry in my room after checking out and had flown back to the UK. They made great effort contacting me and managed to return it to me safely through registered post.

I would recommend staying here near the end of your Iceland trip. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
258 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,649 reviews
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
905 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Property: Northern Light Inn
Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Light Inn & Max’s Restaurant, just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon, is a unique place to stay, enjoy a delicious meal, see the Aurora Borealis (conditions permitting) and discover Iceland. It's 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport-KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and about 6 from New York. We offer an exclusive Airport Taxi service with the lowest prices, and free scheduled shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and you can make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day in the living room. Max's restaurant serves ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. Vegetarian options are always available too. 42 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing