We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay- magical end to our trip”
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My partner and I went to Iceland for 3 nights at the beginning of March. The first two nights we stayed in Reykjavik and thoroughly enjoyed the city and did a tour to the waterfall and Geysers- all very enjoyable but what a treat we ha in store for the last night.

On our third day we left our city centre hotel and took the Iceland Excursions tour bus to the Blue Lagoon (the blue lagoon is a must!!) and spent a few hours enjoying the warm waters of the lagoon and soaking up the atmosphere, we then went to reception and they called the Northern Light Inn to let them know we were ready to be picked up.

15 minutes later (they travel to the Blue lagoon on the hour and at half past each hour if someone is waiting) we were picked up by a lovely lady who helped us with our bags and drove us the short way to the Northern Light Inn. As I had read from other reviews the hotel is not much to look at from the outside and is in the middle of nowhere but the hotel and staff are simply delightful!

The first thing we did was check in and the lady told us all about the hotel, what time breakfast was, how the honesty bar worked and whether we wanted to book for dinner. We booked for dinner and put our names on the list to be woken up after midnight if the lights appeared then went to freshen up.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the staff there were just lovely, very friendly and happy to chat and make recommendations but didn't linger too long! After diner we found that there were a number of guests who had been at the hotel for a few nights and had been unable to view the lights because of the cloud coverage that there had been but one of the hotels photographers was keeping them updated on the forecast and each hour they congregated in the hall to discuss the likelihood of the lights showing that night.

It wasn't until about 11.30pm that the lights finally decided to show themselves and I cannot explain the atmosphere in the hotel, it was just electric! Everyone was wrapping up to go outside and watch the lights and those that had been woken up joined us in the observatory room in their PJ's the atmosphere was just brilliant.

We talked to almost everyone that was up and watching the lights and people were sharing their camera shots and giving advice on how to get a good picture it really was a hotel of people who were enthusiastic about the Northern Lights and experiencing that. We stayed up for a couple of hours and then it seemed to cloud over again so we decided to call it a night.

The next morning we had a lovely breakfast and there were a few sleepy faces but again a lot of buzz and chatter about the lights and sharing of what each person had seen.

We then checked out and settled our bill and were taken to the airport by the hotel minibus.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough as a base to see the Northern lights, the staff and atmosphere at the hotel is worth every penny and the bonus is that it is only 5 minutes drive from the Blue Lagoon... Perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked the Northern Light Inn as our last night in Iceland as it was convenient for both the Blue Lagoon and our trip back to the airport at Keflavik. We knew it was close to the geothermal plant and looked somewhat akin to a Travelodge so we were braced for a somewhat less luxurious finale to our holiday. However we were very pleasantly surprised by the relaxed and friendly atmosphere, the comfortable accommodation, and the quality of the food, which was excellent.In addition the surprisingly atmospheric if a little surreal surroundings with the steam and lights of the adjoining power plant set in the middle of a volcanic lava field made for a memorable visit.
The blue lagoon is about 1KM away and the hotel offer a drop off and pick up service as well as the use of towels. All in all we couldn't have made a better choice for our last hotel.

Room Tip: We were out on a limb in room 26 which was fine for us as the rooms on this side face north and away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

All what the reviews say are true, lovely hotel, excellent food, not cheap but you pay for what you get. Always available to take us to and fetch us back from lagoon and met us at cross roads save us going all the way on airport bus from the city. A bit of advice, if you are going in to the city and having 9pm bus back, this bus is with grey line and leaves the city, and not the excursion bus which runs to the blue lagoon, totally wrong info given to us, but fair play the excursion company provided transport home for us. There is an honesty bar and free coffee, hot chocolate in reception. All of the staff were very polite and helpful. The bed was comfortable and very clean. And on our last night about 10 ish we were sitting in the lounge praying that we would see the lights when in comes the receptionist to say the lights were just starting, You have never seen 6 adults move so fast, and yes there they were, BEAUTIFUL and magical, a perfect ending to a fab holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjames03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was our first night of a week's trip touring Southern Iceland. A great place with friendly staff, gorgeous sumptuous decor, large clean room and excellent food. Happy to use the free shuttle service to and from the nearby Blue Lagoon. A real gem of a place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nesstc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Huge rooms, fabulous food and competent staff. We were given towels for our day visit to the Blue Lagoon. Room 10 is ideal for a family with a king bed and two twins and an excellent shower. There is an honor bar, large lounge and excellent restaurant that served the best trout I've ever had! Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Spent a night here as part of a Discover the World tour.

By chance we were given a clean and spacious family room for just two of us. Comfortable mattress but rather coarse bed linen and duvet too warm to sleep comfortably. Could hear conversation from next room.

Very friendly service. Limited evening menu (meat / vegetarian / two fish options) of excellent food, especially the lamb.

Would recommend staying here before/after a flight. Free shuttle to the airport and Blue Lagoon.

Try Salty Tours half-day excursion with Þorsteinn round the Reykjanes peninsula if you have time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Arrived early in the morning for our stay as we were spending the day at the Blue Lagoon and had traveled from north of Reykjavik. Staff put us straight into our room which was not expected they even gave us towels to use at the Blue Lagoon to save us hiring one. Rooms were bright and spacious with wooden floors and underfloor heating. Very dramatic location as in the middle of a larva field and close to the geothermal plant which was lit up at night in different colour lights. Wake up service offered for Northern Lights but no call received as it was snowing and overcaste! Dinner was superb, I have never tasted better lamb and it had been cooked to perfection. Locally caught fish was also really fresh and tasty. Lifts were offered to the Blue Lagoon and the airport but we had our own car so not required. Airport was only 20 min drive away. Excellent stopover as handy for airport and Blue Lagoon and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
305 reviews
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Keflavik
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
965 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,930 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 55 in Reykjavik
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range: £179 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOT DEALS! Book Directly With US! Northern Light Inn & Max’s Restaurant – 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon – is a unique place to stay and discover Iceland. The hotel is 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport-KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and about 6 from New York. We offer an exclusive Airport Taxi service with the lowest prices. The Northern Light Inn Wellness Spa with Aurora Float & Fitness Center is open from 9 to 9. The Fitness Center is free for all guests while the Spa is complimentary with Deluxe Rooms and a modest fee for others. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and you can make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day in the living room. Max's restaurant serves ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. Vegetarian options are always available. 42 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing